Shard & Shield

Available

Description

He can save her life--if he sacrifices himself and those he swore to protect.

King's bastard Shianan Becknam buries himself in his military career to avoid the family that never wanted him and the dangers of drawing political attention. When the artifact intended to end an interdimensional war is damaged, the mage Ariana is trapped on the other side of the rift with her servant--only the cheery young boy is really one of the monstrous enemy, disguised as a human. Shianan is desperate to rescue Ariana, one of his few friends, but to do so requires committing treason and betraying his duty, leaving his people open to attack.

State mage Ariana struggles to survive as a prisoner of war in a world of deadly magic and unfamiliar customs. Her only ally is her former servant, now a renowned warrior caught up in political machinations. To survive, he'll have to once again take up the fight against Ariana's world.

As their people's wasted armies prepare for fresh battle that will devastate both sides, bastard, mage, and monster must set aside prejudices and rivalries to find an end to centuries of conflict, before they die as traitors.

Book 1 in a new epic fantasy series.

Other books by the author:

  • The Songweaver's Vow (Realm Award winner, SPFBO semi-finalist)
  • Kitsune-Tsuki (Luminis Prize winner)
  • Kitsune-Mochi
  • Bait
  • Con Job
  • many more

This new epic fantasy series is recommended for fans of Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson, and George R.R. Martin.

Product Details

Price
$19.99  $18.39
Publisher
Clipse Press
Publish Date
July 02, 2019
Pages
462
Dimensions
5.98 X 1.03 X 9.02 inches | 1.48 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781631650215
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Laura VanArendonk Baugh is known internationally for her animal training and behavior work and is the author of the bestselling training books Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out and Social, Civil, and Savvy. In this book for young readers and novice trainers, she combines her training skill with her fantastic fiction for a fun, easy-to-grasp introduction to clicker training.