Selected Poems II: 1976 - 1986

Margaret Atwood (Author)


The evolution of Margaret Atwood's poetry since she began writing it twenty-five years ago illuminates one of our major literary talents. "Selected Poems II" contains seventy-three poems, some of them extensive, drawn from her work since 1975, and it includes a number of poems never previously published in the United States. As in her fiction ( "Surfacing, Lady Oracle, Life Before Man, The Handmaid's Tale, Bluebeard's Egg" ) Atwood ruminates on oppression and injustice and on the genders and their discontents, but beyond these surface dissonances we hear the music of compassion and fellowship and love.

Product Details

Mariner Books
Publish Date
November 05, 1987
5.9 X 0.5 X 8.9 inches | 0.5 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

MARGARET ATWOOD is the author of more than forty books of fiction, poetry, and critical essays. In addition to The Handmaid's Tale (now a Hulu series) and its sequel The Testaments, her novels include The Blind Assassin (winner of the Booker Prize), Alias Grace (winner of the Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy), The Robber Bride, Cat's Eye, The Penelopiad, The Heart Goes Last, and Hag-Seed, a novel revisitation of Shakespeare's play The Tempest, for the Hogarth Shakespeare Project. Her latest book of short stories is Stone Mattress: Nine Tales. She is also the author of the graphic novel Angel Cat­bird (with cocreator Johnnie Christmas). Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson.