Rival's Break

Carla Neggers (Author)
Available

Description

A deadly poisoning, a stolen painting and a criminal mastermind challenge the skills of FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan as never before in their latest high-stakes case. New York Times bestselling author Carla Neggers has crafted a gripping novel of international intrigue and suspense not to be missed.

Emma Sharpe is recovering from a shattering loss while her husband, Colin Donovan, is deep into his latest undercover mission. So they're grateful to enjoy a peaceful autumn weekend together on the southern Maine coast to celebrate Colin's brother Andy's wedding.

But the peace is short-lived when Kevin Donovan, a marine patrol officer, receives a call to check on suspected food poisoning at a party aboard a yacht. Colin decides to tag along. He is surprised to recognize one of the victims as an undercover British intelligence officer, and it quickly becomes evident they're dealing with something very sinister. At the same time a valuable painting by Irish artist Aoife O'Byrne--a friend of Emma and Colin's--is missing from the yacht, and the connections make the investigation international and extremely personal.

Emma and Colin discover they are up against a deadly foe who plans to strike again. With the help of HIT, their small, elite Boston-based FBI team, they must foil an attack that will have devastating effects. It's a case that will alter their lives beyond anything they've ever imagined...

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Mira Books
Publish Date
August 27, 2019
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.1 X 1.1 X 9.1 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780778308102

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Carla Neggers is the New York Times bestselling author of more than seventy-five novels, including her popular Sharpe & Donovan and Swift River Valley series. Her books have been translated into dozens of languages and sold in over thirty-five countries. Carla is a founding member of the New England Chapter of Romance Writers of America and has served as vice president of International Thriller Writers and president of Novelists, Inc. She has received multiple awards for her writing and is a recipient of the RT Book Reviews Career Achievement Award for romantic suspense. She and her husband divide their time between Boston, home to their two grown children and three young grandchildren, and their hilltop home in Vermont.

Reviews

"Neggers fashions a colorful landscape shaded with just enough darkness to create the brooding atmosphere in which her heroes best thrive.... Reels you straight in and doesn't let go." -Providence Journal on IMPOSTOR'S LURE

"Neggers has long excelled at forging neo-gothic, brooding tales rich in setting and atmosphere.... She ups the ante in fashioning a crime thriller of rare depth and complexity." --Providence Journal on THIEF'S MARK

A "suspenseful, fast-moving thriller with plot twists and excitement to the delightful conclusion." -Reader to Reader, on LIAR'S KEY

An "intense, edge-of-your-seat whirlwind." -Booklist on LIAR'S KEY

"Insanely sensational....engaging, complex, unforgettable." -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick!, on LIAR'S KEY

"A richly atmospheric, beautifully drawn tale with echoes of Daniel Silva and even Dan Brown." -Providence Journal on LIAR'S KEY

"Well-plotted, intriguing and set mostly in the lushly described Irish countryside, the novel is smart and satisfying." -Kirkus Reviews on DECLAN'S CROSS

"Neggers delivers another spellbinding, chilling, complex page-turner... Her characters will awe readers and the 'ah-ha' moment is priceless." -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick, on HARBOR ISLAND

"A fast-paced, action-packed tale of romantic suspense that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Gardner." -Library Journal on SAINT'S GATE

"The unforgettable characters make Neggers' story extraordinarily memorable." -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick, on KEEPER'S REACH