Raybearer

Jordan Ifueko (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent--perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir

Nothing is more important than loyalty.
But what if you've sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince's Council of 11. If she's picked, she'll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But The Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won't stand by and become someone's pawn--but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we're willing to go for the ones we love.

Product Details

Price
$18.99
Publisher
Amulet Books
Publish Date
August 18, 2020
Pages
368
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781419739828
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jordan Ifueko is a Nigerian American writer who grew up eating fried plantains while reading comic books under a blanket fort. She now lives in Los Angeles with her husband and their collection of Black Panther Funko Pops. Raybearer is her debut novel.

Reviews

"All hail Raybearer . . . Fans of recent breakouts in the genre like Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir may just find their next obsession."-- "Entertainment Weekly"
"Fresh and utterly transportive, Raybearer is a fantastical fight for freedom, family, and justice at all costs."-- "Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere"
"Ifueko's world building and prose is nothing short of seductive and I completely adore Tarisai's headstrong, tragic self. This will be a major gem of a release in 2020!"-- "Jessica Khoury, author of The Forbidden Wish and Last of Her Name"
"Ifueko's debut fantasy blends Nigerian folklore with a mΓ©lange of other influences to create a multicultural world where colonization and imperialism inform the story as much as Tarisai's own choices... [A] promising first installment in a fantasy duology."-- "School Library Journal"
"Completely blown away! Tarisai's tale set my imagination on fire."-- "Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, author of The Dark Fantastic"
**STARRED REVIEW**
"Ifueko's mesmerizing debut stuns as it weaves a tale of loyalty, fate, destiny, family, and revenge. Moreover, it places a dark skinned heroine front and center, who is beautiful and powerful, deadly and compassionate, and vulnerable and tough, giving YA literature more of the diverse representation teens need."-- "Booklist"
**STARRED REVIEW**
"A fresh, phenomenal fantasy that begs readers to revel in its brilliant world."-- "Kirkus Reviews"
**STARRED REVIEW**
"By crafting a world plagued by imperialism, poverty, and institutionalized misogyny, and a mythology that literalizes the power of love, purpose, and sacrifice, Ifueko illustrates the need for social change and inspires readers to fight for it."-- "Publishers Weekly"