Rag and Bone

Joe Clifford (Author)
Available

Description

Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane

Having spent ten months on the run after he was framed for the murder of an estate-clearing associate, handyman Jay Porter returns to his hometown of Ashton, New Hampshire. During his time as a fugitive, he searched for a hard drive--evidence that would put his longtime nemeses Adam and Michael Lombardi behind bars. But he came up empty handed.

He has nothing. No hard drive, no hope. He hasn't spoken to his ex-wife and son in almost a year and he's broke. With his reputation tarnished and employment opportunities nonexistent, Jay takes a charity assignment from old friend/flame Alison Rodgers and learns of a fire at Alison's former rehab farm. Jay is convinced that the Lombardis started a fire as a scare tactic to pressure Alison to sell. As Jay begins to look into the origins of the fire, he hopes he will finally be able to put away his enemies. But he soon discovers that evil isn't so easy to define, and that sometimes we need to take the law into our own hands if we want justice.

Product Details

Price
$26.95  $24.26
Publisher
Oceanview Publishing
Publish Date
June 04, 2019
Pages
256
Dimensions
6.4 X 0.9 X 9.1 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
ISBN/EAN
9781608093267

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

A former homeless junkie, Joe Clifford has dedicated his life to education and the craft of writing and helping other ex-junkies find a voice and a platform for their creative energies. He is a graduate of Central Connecticut State University and holds an MFA degree from Florida International University. He is the acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and the producer of Lip Service West, a gritty reading series in Oakland, California. Clifford is the author of several acclaimed books--two of which were Anthony Award nominees: Lamentation, his first novel in the Jay Porter series, and his anthology (editor) Trouble in the Heartland. Broken Ground is the fourth novel in his Jay Porter series. In all his Jay Porter novels, Clifford uses the backdrop of drug abuse to shine a light on the misunderstood and marginalized, while weaving personal tragedies into narratives that compel and transcend as well as entertain. Clifford lives with his wife, Justine, and two sons in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Reviews

"The writing snaps. The story crackles. The characters are achingly real. I tore through Rag and Bone in a single session. What else can I say? Read Joe Clifford." -- Meg Gardiner, best-selling author


"Gritty and gripping, with prose that cuts to the bone. Joe Clifford has crafted a modern noir that pulls no punches." -- Riley Sager, New York Times best-selling author
"Clifford is one fine writer ... for those who eat, drink, and sleep noir, this one's for you." -- Booklist

"Joe Clifford's Rag and Bone is tough, tight, and engrossing, filled with genuine emotion and unsparing authenticity." -- Lou Berney, Edgar Award-winning author
"...will appeal to fans of noir fiction." -- Library Journal
"As often happens in life for those with addiction issues, Clifford's [Rag and Bone] doesn't portray a fairy tale happy-ever-after ending. The author strives to depict through his characters the dangers of drug addiction. In that, he succeeds. Brilliantly!" -- Bookreporter.com

"Steve Ulfelder's fans will be pleased." -- Publishers Weekly