Rabbit and the Motorbike

Kate Hoefler (Author) Sarah Jacoby (Illustrator)
Available

Description

"Exhilarating . . . Graceful text and evocative illustrations combine in this story about the rewards of facing fears and trying something new." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

A timeless fable of the journey from grief to acceptance that will touch every reader: Rabbit isn't sure he'll ever be brave enough to go on an adventure. He's a homebody who lives in a quiet field of wheat he dreams of leaving every night. His world is enlarged by his friend Dog and Dog's tales of motorbike adventures. But one day, Dog is gone, and with him, go the stories Rabbit loves so much. Dare Rabbit pick up the motorbike and live his own story?

- A touching tale for those confronting loss and those who are eager to explore and experience the world around them
- Rabbit's bravery in the face of sadness will console, nurture, and inspire young readers
- Author Sarah Jacoby grew up wandering the woods outside of Philadelphia. She now draws for many people and places, including the New York Times, and she is the author and illustrator of Forever or a Day
- Illustrator Kate Hoefler received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan, where she studied as a Colby Fellow. She is the author of Real Cowboys and Great Big Things

Fans of Hungry Jim and Most of the Better Natural Thing in the World will enjoy the touching and meaningful storyline in Rabbit and the Motorbike.

- Great read-aloud book for families/children experiencing loss or heartbreak
- Books for kids ages 3-5
- Children's books for kindergarten-third grade

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Chronicle Books
Publish Date
September 10, 2019
Pages
48
Dimensions
11.1 X 0.4 X 9.1 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781452170909

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Sarah Jacoby grew up wandering the woods outside of Philadelphia. She now draws for many people and places, including the New York Times, and she is the author and illustrator of Forever or a Day. She lives in Philadelphia.

Kate Hoefler received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan, where she studied as a Colby Fellow. She is the author of Real Cowboys and Great Big Things. She lives in a quiet village in Ohio where she can hear the distant sounds of the highway.

Reviews

"A tender, breathtaking picture book that you'll read again and again."--A Best Children's Books of the Year, The Christian Science Monitor
"Exhilarating . . . Graceful text and evocative illustrations combine in this story about the rewards of facing fears and trying something new."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
"An appealing story about grief and acceptance. Recommended for public and school libraries as a tool for children who are experiencing grief. The tone is lighter than in many texts that deal with loss, and the book lends itself to discussion." --School Library Journal
"Rich in metaphor without an ounce of heavy-handedness, this timeless fable should be left out for a little one to come to and
contemplate on their own, when the need arises."--Booklist, Starred Review