Prelude for Lost Souls

Helene Dunbar (Author)
Available

Description

"Ghost story, love story, and mystery in equal measure, Helene Dunbar's Prelude for Lost Souls is filled with unforgettable characters who reveal the many ways a life can be haunted. Perfect for fans of The Raven Boys."--Lisa Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Magician series

From acclaimed author Helene Dunbar comes the start of a spellbinding young adult series about a small town filled with spiritualists and one boy who wants out, perfect for readers who want teen ghost books and fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Maureen Johnson, and Nova Ren Suma.

In the town of St. Hilaire, most make their living by talking to the dead. In the summer, the town gates open to tourists seeking answers while all activity is controlled by The Guild, a sinister ruling body that sees everything.

Dec Hampton has lived there his entire life, but ever since his parents died, he's been done with it. He knows he has to leave before anyone has a chance to stop him.

His best friend Russ won't be surprised when Dec leaves--but he will be heartbroken. Russ is a good medium, maybe even a great one. He's made sacrifices for his gift and will do whatever he can to gain entry to The Guild, even embracing dark forces and contacting the most elusive ghost in town.

But when the train of Annie Krylova, the piano prodigy whose music has been Dec's main source of solace, breaks down outside of town, it sets off an unexpected chain of events. And in St. Hilaire, there are no such things as coincidences.

Perfect for readers looking for:

  • ghost town books
  • young adult lgbt books
  • atmospheric stories
  • gifts for teen girls 16-18

Praise for Prelude for Lost Souls:
"Dunbar invokes small-town intrigue and plentiful atmosphere with this haunting, romantic tale."--Publishers Weekly
"A quietly compelling story."--Kirkus Reviews
"Mesmerizing and haunting, Dunbar invites readers into a world of family secrets, anxious ghosts and a society's ruthless grasp for power that will leave you wanting more."--The Nerd Daily

Also by Helene Dunbar:
We Are Lost and Found

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Sourcebooks Fire
Publish Date
August 04, 2020
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 1.2 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781492667377

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Helene Dunbar is the author of several novels for young adults including These Gentle Wounds, What Remains, Boomerang, We Are Lost and Found, and Prelude for Lost Souls. Over the years, she's worked as a drama critic, journalist, and marketing manager, and has written on topics as diverse as Irish music, court cases, and theater. She lives in Nashville with her husband and daughter. Visit her online at helenedunbar.com