Prayer of the Dragon: An Inspector Shan Investigation Set in Tibet

Eliot Pattison (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Soho Crime
Publish Date
December 01, 2008
5.0 X 1.0 X 7.2 inches | 0.65 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Eliot Pattison is the author of eight Inspector Shan novels, set in Tibet: The Skull Mantra (which won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel), Water Touching Stone, Bone Mountain, and Beautiful Ghosts, Prayer of the Dragon, The Lord of Death, and Mandarin Gate. This series has been translated into over twenty languages around the world. A former resident of Boston and Washington, Pattison now resides on an 18th-century farm in Pennsylvania with his wife, their three children, and an ever-expanding menagerie of animals.


Praise for the Inspector Shan Series

"Surprises and mysteries abound . . . [Prayer of the Dragon] taught me more about Tibet--modern and ancient--than I had managed to learn elsewhere over the years."
--The Washington Post

"I've seldom read a novel that more effectively captures the soul of its setting, in all of its contradictions, difficulties and beauty."
--Nancy Pearl, NPR

"Nothing I've read or seen about how China has systematically crushed the soul of Tibet has been as effective . . . A thriller of laudable aspirations and achievements."
--Chicago Tribune

"A cocktail of action and adventure . . . A great read."
--The Guardian

"Shan becomes our Don Quixote . . . Set against a background that is alternately bleak and blazingly beautiful, this is at once a top-notch thriller and a substantive look at Tibet under siege."
--Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"A rich and multilayered story that mirrors the complexity of the surrounding land."
--San Francisco Chronicle