George F. Butterick (Editor) Donald Allen (Editor)


This anthology includes many of the major poets to have emerged and gained pre-eminence since World War II, and whose writing reflects not only the significant changes in this nation's postwar history, and the coming to grips with a nuclear age, but also an entirely new way of looking at and structuring reality. United by their "postmodernist" concerns with spontaneity, "instantism," formal and syntactic flexibility, and the revelation of both the creator and the process through the writing itself, these 38 poets represent very diverse strains of an essential American individualism. Included are many of the poets whose work first gained widespread national attention with the 1960 publication of The New American Poetry: Charles Olson, Allen Ginsberg, Paul Blackburn, LeRoi Jones (Amiri Baraka), Denise Levertov, Robert Duncan, and others. Among the poets included here for the first time are Anne Waldman, Diane di Prima, Ed Sanders, Jerome Rothenberg, and James Koller. In addition to a new preface by Allen and Butterick, the book provides autobiographical notes of all the poets and listings of their major works.

Product Details

$17.00  $15.64
Grove Press
Publish Date
January 14, 1994
5.3 X 1.2 X 8.1 inches | 0.9 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

George F. Butterick was an authority on the poet Charles Olson, edited Olson's The Maximus Poem and at the time of his death was working on a biography of the poet. He received the American Book Award for his Collected Poems of Charles Olson, published in 1987. He was a a lecturer in English and curator of the Literary Archives at the University of Connecticut.