Perfectly Norman

Tom Percival (Author)
Available

Description

For fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benji Davies comes an uplifting story about embracing what makes you you.

Meet Norman.
Norman is normal--perfectly normal.
That's until he grows a pair of wings

Norman loves his new wings, but he's worried about everyone will think. After all, they're definitely NOT normal. Norman decides to cover them with a big coat, but hiding such a big part of his life makes him feel miserable. Can Norman find the courage to be himself?

The Big Bright Feelings picture books provide kid-friendly entry points into emotional intelligence topics--from being true to yourself, to worrying, to anger management, to making friends. These topics can be difficult to talk about. But these books act as sensitive and reassuring springboards for conversations about mental and emotional health, positive self-image, building self-confidence, and managing feelings.

Read all the books in the Big Bright Feelings series
Perfectly Norman
Ruby Finds a Worry
Ravi's Roar

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date
May 01, 2018
Pages
32
Dimensions
9.5 X 0.5 X 11.9 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781681197852

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tom Percival is the author and illustrator of the Big Bright Feelings picture books--including Ravi's Roar, Ruby Finds a Worry, and Perfectly Norman--in addition to Herman's Letter, Herman's Vacation, and Bubble Trouble. He is also the author of Goat's Coat. He writes and illustrates in his native United Kingdom where he lives in a town called Stroud with his family.tom-percival.com

Reviews

"A captivating tale about happiness, being yourself, and the magic of learning to spread your wings and fly." - starred review, Foreword Reviews

"The message of acceptance . . . is presented in a child-appropriate and thoughtful manner." - Booklist

"An ideal selection for storytimes." - School Library Journal

"Percival's message is emphasized through the canny use of color as a storytelling mechanism: Norman's world is in greyscale . . . As the wings come out, Norman and everything he's near turns technicolor." - Publishers Weekly

"The contrast of black-and-white illustrations with splashes of bright color complements the story's theme. . . . A heartwarming story about facing fears and acceptance." - Kirkus Reviews

"Percival inserts loads of funny details in his warm-toned, cartoonish illustrations . . . Little ones willing to suspend their disbelief will appreciate this silly forest frolic." - Booklist on HERMAN'S VACATION

"Beautifully illustrated story about the sacrifices and compromises of friendship. The details in the drawings add humor and heart." - School Library Journal on HERMAN'S VACATION

"Filled with amusing details, the dynamic artwork fuels the text with action and humor. . . . This book proves that true friendship endures despite distance and duress." - School Library Journal on HERMAN'S LETTER

"The story's emotional content will resonate with any child whose friend has moved away, and the cartoon-like journey sequence is entertaining on its own. Colorful and expressive, Percival's illustrations have plenty of kid appeal . . . This offbeat, gently amusing fantasy is recommended for larger collections." - Booklist on HERMAN'S LETTER