Penny and Her Doll

Kevin Henkes (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes's award-winning Penny returns in the second I Can Read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll's name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn't know. What should Penny call her?

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Penny and Her Doll is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall

--Horn Book (starred review)

Product Details

Price
$4.99  $4.59
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
Publish Date
February 19, 2013
Pages
32
Dimensions
5.8 X 0.4 X 8.7 inches | 0.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062082015

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors--one for Olive's Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller--and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Reviews

"Henkes continues to give children reasons to want to read, long after the satisfaction of learning how to has passed."--Horn Book (starred review)
"A doll of a beginning reader."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"The dynamics are spot-on."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"As supremely satisfying as a Henkes picture book, this beginning reader belongs in collections everywhere."--School Library Journal (starred review)
Praise for Little White Rabbit: "Kevin Henkes has a rare ability to see through the eyes of children of all ages."--Horn Book (starred review)
"Enormously appealing."--School Library Journal (starred review)