Outside in

Deborah Underwood (Author) Cindy Derby (Illustrator)
Available

Description

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS!
From the New York Times best-selling author behind The Quiet Book comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, even when we're stuck inside. Perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano, Outside In reminds emerging readers of the ways nature creates and touches our lives in homes, apartments, and cars, and is the perfect homeschooling tool to reflect on the world's connectedness.

Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most miraculous inventor. This thought-provoking picture book poetically underscores our powerful and enduring connection with nature, not so easily obscured by lives spent indoors.
Rhythmic, powerful language shows us how our world is made and the many ways Outside comes in to help and heal us, and reminds us that we are all part of a much greater universe. Emotive illustrations evoke the beauty, simplicity, and wonder that await us all . . . outside.

Product Details

Price: $17.98  $16.54
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Published Date: April 14, 2020
Pages: 40
Dimensions: 8.9 X 0.5 X 9.8 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language: English
Type: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781328866820
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Deborah Underwood has written numerous picture books, including New York Times bestsellers The Quiet Book, The Loud Book, and Here Comes the Easter Cat. She lives in Northern California with her feline muse, Bella. Visit her at www.DeborahUnderwoodBooks.com and on Twitter and Instagram: @underwoodwriter
Cindy Derby is an author, illustrator, and puppeteer. She has been a Grand Prize Winner of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators Portfolio Award and her debut picture book How to Walk an Ant publishes this spring. She lives in San Francisco, California.

Reviews

★ "[A] love letter to nature....Lushness without sweetness--wild, darkly romantic, and exquisite."--Kirkus, STARRED review

★ "This gorgeous celebration of nature is a stirring invitation to play." --School Library Journal, STARRED review

★ "A moving reminder that nature's beckoning need not go unrequited." --Publisher's Weekly, STARRED review

★ "[A] gentle, unpreachy text that conveys the way modern life can be cut off from or blind to nature....Ink and watercolor art is gorgeously luminous....Perfect for an outside storytime, this will also provoke discussion among kids about their own outside/inside differentiations." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED review

★ "[A] lyrical and sensory exploration of the artificial separation between indoors and outdoors....Outside In is a beguiling, thought-provoking book that thinks outside the box." --BookPage, STARRED review

"Lovely, expressionistic art and poetic prose invite readers to contemplate nature's mystique and its role in everyday life.... Through an evocative mix of aqueous washes and richer, more saturated tones, the color-washed, loose-brushed illustrations capture a sense of nature's intrigue, delights, and influence." --Booklist