Out of the Ice

Ann Turner (Author)
Backorder

Description

For fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware, this gripping thriller from the bestselling author of The Lost Swimmer is a "taut and tightly wound page-turner" (Marie Claire) set in the icy reaches of Antarctica.

When environmental scientist Laura Alvarado is sent to a remote Antarctic island to report on an abandoned whaling station, she begins to uncover more than she could ever imagine.

Reminders of the bloody, violent past are everywhere, and Laura is disturbed by evidence of recent human interference. Rules have been broken, and the protected wildlife is behaving strangely.

On a diving expedition, Laura emerges into an ice cave where she is shocked to see an anguished figure, crying for help. But in this freezing, lonely landscape there are ghosts everywhere, and Laura wonders if her own eyes can be trusted. Has she been in the ice too long?

Back at base, Laura's questions about the whaling station go unanswered, blocked by scientists unused to outsiders. And Laura just can't shake what happened in the cave.

Piecing together a past and present of cruelty and betrayal that spans the globe--from Norway to Nantucket, Europe and Antarctica--Laura will stop at nothing to uncover the truth. As she comes face to face with the dark side of human nature, she also discovers a newfound hope in love and the meaning of family. If only Laura can find her way...out of the ice.

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Simon & Schuster (Australia)
Publish Date
February 06, 2018
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.0 X 1.3 X 7.5 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781925030914
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ann Turner is the highly acclaimed author of many books for children and young adults, among them Rosemary's Witch, Heron Street, and Through Moon and Stars and Night Skies, a Reading Rainbow book (see page XX). Ms. Turner lives in Northampton, MA.

Robert Barrett is a jacket artist and the illustrator of several books for children, including The Other Wise Man. Mr. Barrett, who chairs the illustration department at Brigham Young Universtiy, lives in Provo, UT.