Other Words for Home (Library)

Jasmine Warga (Author) Vaneh Assadourian (Read by)
Backorder

Description

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Product Details

Price
$39.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
May 28, 2019
Dimensions
6.1 X 1.2 X 6.6 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781982657369

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jasmine Warga's debut middle grade book, Other Words for Home, is a Newbery Honor Book. She is the author of the novels for teens My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

Reviews

"A beautiful, powerful, and necessary book for all readers."

-- "Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author"

"Warga effectively shows, as she writes in an author's note, that 'children who are fleeing from a war zone... want the same things all of us do--love, understanding, safety, a chance at happiness.'"

-- "Publishers Weekly (starred review)"

"A story about war and displacement, resilience and adjustment...Poetic, immersive, hopeful."

-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"