Opposite of Always

Available

Description

"One of the best love stories I've ever read." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

"Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest." --Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he's falling--hard. Soon she's meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn't sure if he's losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate's death, he'll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he's willing to do to save the people he loves.

--Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Leah on the Offbeat

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
March 05, 2019
Pages
464
Dimensions
6.0 X 1.7 X 8.3 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062748379

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Justin A. Reynolds has had a wide array of odd jobs. He was most recently a registered nurse before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but he likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives in northeast Ohio.

Reviews

"Opposite of Always is as beautiful as it is funny, warm, and captivating. One of the best love stories I've ever read. Jack King is the hero we've been waiting for."--Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give
"Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest. Reynolds' debut is wise, heartfelt, and wildly, infinitely charming."--Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Leah on the Offbeat
"This charming, wry novel packed with witty, crackling banter is propulsively readable. There are some big questions about choice, consequences,
loyalty, and love in this novel, and Reynolds beautifully complements those heavy concerns with the sweet, funny, and genuine voice of his protagonist."--Booklist (starred review)
"Romeo and Juliet meets Groundhog Day and Love Story in this wonderfully romantic story of teenage love and second chances.... Reynolds creates a pair of unforgettable protagonists who are doomed to love, lose, and work to find one another again and again."--Kirkus Reviews
"[Reynolds] creates an enormously likable character who is doing the best he can and then some ...the book's blend of humor and heartbreak wins out."--Publishers Weekly
"A love story about friendship with a "choose your own adventure" twist... Any teen who's ever wanted a do-over will enjoy reading this story."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Reynolds spins a poignant, dizzying tale of love and loss in this page-turning time-travel fantasy."--Horn Book
"Jack's narration is as funny as it is poignant as he moves from romantic to frantic and back again... [a] sentimental but not saccharine fantasy."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Relationships take a central role in this passionate novel, as Reynolds delves into the emotional experience of Jack's inner circle, giving them and their interpersonal connections depth. It's an intense ride and readers are likely going to want to stick with Jack to the (real) end."--Shelf Awareness
"A story of friendship, young love, and learning how to make the right choices... In tough times, we can't get enough of these books and we don't get nearly as many as we need. Science fiction is lucky to have this one."--Locus