Only Mostly Devastated

Sophie Gonzales (Author)
Available

Description

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets Clueless in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

"Only Mostly Devastated is the kind of book I wish existed when my kids were younger--a charming, funny, laugh-out-loud teen romance that reminds all readers love comes in a multitude of flavors, and they are ALL sweet." --Jodi Picoult, New York Times-bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

"A delightful, heartwarming, heartrending story about family, love, friendship, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down." --New York Times-bestselling author Sandhya Menon

Will Tavares is the dream summer fling--he's fun, affectionate, kind--but just when Ollie thinks he's found his Happily Ever After, summer vacation ends and Will stops texting Ollie back. Now Ollie is one prince short of his fairytale ending, and to complicate the fairytale further, a family emergency sees Ollie uprooted and enrolled at a new school across the country. Which he minds a little less when he realizes it's the same school Will goes to...except Ollie finds that the sweet, comfortably queer guy he knew from summer isn't the same one attending Collinswood High. This Will is a class clown, closeted--and, to be honest, a bit of a jerk.

Ollie has no intention of pining after a guy who clearly isn't ready for a relationship, especially since this new, bro-y jock version of Will seems to go from hot to cold every other week. But then Will starts "coincidentally" popping up in every area of Ollie's life, from music class to the lunch table, and Ollie finds his resolve weakening.

The last time he gave Will his heart, Will handed it back to him trampled and battered. Ollie would have to be an idiot to trust him with it again.

Right? Right.


Only Mostly Devastated [is] an instant hit and Sophie Gonzales one YA author to watch." --Julia Lynn Rubin, author of Burro Hills

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Wednesday Books
Publish Date
March 03, 2020
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.7 X 1.1 X 8.4 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
ISBN/EAN
9781250315892
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

SOPHIE GONZALES is a YA contemporary author. She graduated from the University of Adelaide and lives in Melbourne, Australia, where she currently works as a psychologist. When she isn't writing, she can be found ice skating, performing in musical theatre, and practicing the piano. She is also the author of The Law of Inertia.

Reviews

"Only Mostly Devastated is the kind of book I wish existed when my kids were younger--a charming, funny, laugh-out-loud teen romance that reminds all readers love comes in a multitude of flavors, and they are ALL sweet." --Jodi Picoult, New York Times-bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

"A delightful, heartwarming, heartrending story about family, love, friendship, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down." --New York Times-bestselling author Sandhya Menon

"Summer lovin' gets a Southern twist in this addicting coming-of-age gay romance. Sweet and tart in equal measure.... Poignant, piquant, and not to be missed." --Kirkus

"Sweet and earnest.... A worthwhile romance for any collection." --Booklist

"Gonzales turns in a witty, smart, credible, and irreverent contemporary romance that handles all these elements skillfully and with heart.... The power of this fun Grease retelling is that it normalizes the spectrum of sexual orientations. Recommended for all teens." --School Library Journal

"Heartfelt and charming, Only Mostly Devastated is a touching and delightful YA contemporary romance. Highly recommend for fans of Nicola Yoon, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Sick Kids In Love." --YA Books Central

"A delight! This heartfelt, queer update on Grease features a diverse cast of teen characters and a charmingly earnest protagonist in Ollie. Gonzales handily balances lively banter with somber issues, and the compelling will they/won't they storyline warmly illustrates a timeless truth: love is love is love." --Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately

"There can never be enough queer stories about romance--and when they are told with this much heart, humor and a swoon worthy story line, you never want them to end." --Angelo Surmelis, author of The Dangerous Art of Blending In

"Irresistibly cute, hilariously sweet, this book warmed my heart with its characters and love story" --Mason Deaver, author of the national bestseller I Wish You All the Best

"Oh my gosh, Only Mostly Devastated is SO GREAT! Funny and sweet and super gay, fans of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda are going to be all over it. It's totally swoon-worthy!" --Cale Dietrich, author of The Love Interest

Outrageously funny and terribly sweet, Only Mostly Devastated will tug at your heartstrings until they break, then weave you new ones made of pure gold. --K. Ancrum, author of The Wicker King

Wry but earnest, sweet but irreverent, heartbreaking but hopeful. With wit and authenticity, Only Mostly Devastated tells the story of what happens to a summer romance after summer is over. You'll be rooting for Ollie and his messy, wonderful friends from the first page to the last. --Hannah Capin, author of The Dead Queens Club and Foul Is Fair

"With razor-sharp wit, masterful comedic timing, and heaps of heart, these hilarious, lovable, heartbreakingly real characters make Only Mostly Devastated an instant hit and Sophie Gonzales one YA author to watch." --Julia Lynn Rubin, author of Burro Hills

"Narrator Ollie is deeply sympathetic.... Gonzales...gets most U.S. details right in this Grease reboot, creating an inclusive cast and giving weight to many parts of Ollie's multifaceted life." --Publishers Weekly

div>