Once You Know This

Emily Blejwas (Author)
Available

Description

A girl wishes for a better life for herself, her mom, and her baby brother and musters the courage to make it happen in this moving and emotionally satisfying story for readers of Kate DiCamillo and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

"Once You Know This reminds me of a flower blooming in the crack of a sidewalk. It's important, and it's special. Just read it."--Ali Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Thing About Jellyfish

Eleven-year-old Brittany knows there has to be a better world out there. Lately, though, it sure doesn't feel like it. She and her best friend, Marisol, stick together at school, but at home Brittany's granny is sick, her cat is missing, there's never any money, and there's her little brother, Tommy, to worry about. Brittany has a hard time picturing her future as anything but a plain white sky. If her life is going to ever change, she needs a plan. And once she starts believing in herself, Brittany realizes that what has always seemed out of reach might be just around the corner.

This debut novel by Emily Blejwas is perfect for readers who love emotionally satisfying books. Thoughtful and understated, it's the hopeful story of a girl who struggles to make her future bright . . . and the makeshift family that emerges around her.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Product Details

Price
$16.99
Publisher
Delacorte Press
Publish Date
September 19, 2017
Pages
240
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.0 X 8.3 inches | 0.79 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781524700973

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

EMILY CHAMBERS BLEJWAS grew up in Minnesota and now lives in Mobile, Alabama with her husband and four children. She directs the Gulf States Health Policy Center, has worked in the fields of community development and victim advocacy, and holds degrees from Auburn University and Kenyon College. This is her first novel. You can visit Emily online at emilyblejwas.com, and follow her on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter at @EmilyBlejwas.

Reviews

"A poignant and emotionally driven debut."--SLJ

"Some readers may know Brittany's world well, others will find it surprising; all will appreciate the way Brittany's actions propel the resolution. Hard to take but ultimately hopeful."--Kirkus

"Uplifting . . . Brittany gives many readers a compassionate glimpse into their own near-desperate lives and offers others a window into a world they may not really have seen or understood."--The Horn Book

"Heartfelt and sincere with a strong dose of hopeful . . . I can see it becoming a favorite."--My Comfy Chair