Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Elise Gravel (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$13.99  $12.87
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
March 14, 2017
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.3 X 0.8 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062351265

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!, The Cranky Ballerina, The Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com.

Reviews

"Great, kooky, monstrous fun!"--Jim Benton, bestselling author of Franny K. Stein
"A visually interesting mix of illustration and story, punctuated by numerous lists, comic panels, and cartoon diagrams and led by a smart female protagonist. A bubble-gum crowd pleaser with wide audience appeal."--Kirkus Reviews
"This laugh-out-loud book is a perfect pick for transitioning readers with a penchant for silly stories, or graduates of the Fly Guy series."--Booklist
"Researching the creature she dubs Meh fills Olga's days with purpose and her notebook with hilarious quips ("He doesn't like it when I put a sock on his head.... He's really scared of bananas"), which Gravel captures in her signature brand of chunky cartooning, accented with red."--Publishers Weekly
"Readers will get lots of laughs out of the steady stream of gross-out jokes, as well as Olga's misanthropic humor, though her attitude toward humans softens slightly by book's end."--Publishers Weekly
"[An] obvious sell to fans of animals, but it will also hit a humorous note with anybody who has felt a little left behind by these things we call humans."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"For fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants, Olga will be a big hit. Kids will devour the toilet humor along with the quick one-liners Olga throws out."--School Library Journal
"An apt readalike for fans of Wimpy Kid, and Gravel deploys spot art, larger illustrations, word balloons, and chunks of text with great success in the layout."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Animal-loving Olga makes her biggest scientific discovery yet in this amusing story!" (Recommended on "The Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds--2017 Edition")--Brightly