Old Wolf: A Fable

(Author) (Illustrator)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Atheneum Books
Publish Date
Pages
160
Dimensions
6.2 X 0.7 X 9.3 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781442499218
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Avi is the author of more than seventy books for children and young adults, including the 2003 Newbery medal winner Crispin: The Cross of Lead. He has won two Newbery Honors and many other awards for his fiction. He lives with his family in Denver, Colorado. Visit him at Avi-Writer.com. Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of the acclaimed picture books Locomotive, winner of the Caldecott Medal and a New York Times bestseller; Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11; and Lightship, each a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book. He is the illustrator of numerous additional books, including Avi's Poppy series. You can visit him online at BrianFloca.com.

Reviews

"Fast paced and exciting, this accessible novel will appeal to those who enjoy adventure stories." - School Library Journal
"Avi switches

perspective between Nashoba and Casey, building the tension and raising a multitude

of questions in this thought-provoking allegory. Should the head of the food

chain kill for sport? And, is that killing really sport? Naturalistic black-and-white

pencil illustrations by Floca (who also illustrated Avi's Poppy books) enhance the

classic-feeling tale." -Horn Book Magazine
"...a fine tale that will benefit from being sifted for all its meanings." -Kirkus Reviews
"...this is likely to appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen and Will Hobbs." -Booklist