Not Quite Narwhal

Jessie Sima (Author)
Available

Description

In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he's always been a little bit different--his tusk isn't as long, he's not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn't enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima's debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
February 14, 2017
Pages
40
Dimensions
9.1 X 0.6 X 9.1 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781481469098

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator living and working in New York City. She grew up in a small town in southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. She is the author of Not Quite Narwhal; Harriet Gets Carried Away; Love, Z; Snow Pony and the Seven Miniature Ponies; Spencer's New Pet; and Jules vs. the Ocean. You can visit her at JessieSima.com.

Reviews

"The message is an appealing one that could speak to many family situations relating to multiple identities...feel-good story"--Kirkus Reviews "November 15, 2016 "
"Adorable characters trigger smiles throughout"--Publisher's Weekly "December 2016 "
"Swap the tired Ugly Duckling for this delightfully absurd tale of knowing who you are and where you came from."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "January 2017 "
"A storyteller's pacing and winning characters, resulting in an appealing book. Read it for a whimsical storytime or provide some text-to-text connections for older students with Amy Krouse Rosenthal's Uni the Unicorn and Bob Shea's Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great....this title is highly recommended."--School Library Journal "January 2017 "
"Sima's bubbly, adorable artwork is nearly irresistible...This endearing tale will warm many a heart."--Booklist "January 2017 "
"This book is painfully adorable...The story is about finding your own way to belong, ..It's just beautiful."--Shelf Awareness Pro "January 24, 2017 "