Not Everyone Is Special

Josh Denslow (Author)
Available

Description

A teen who can teleport just wants to make his mom happy. A midget working as an elf in a year-round Christmas-themed amusement park battles his archrival: a condescending Santa. You've heard of Fight Club, but have you been to the Underground Punch Market? Like the work of George Saunders crossed with Richard Linklater, NOT EVERYONE IS SPECIAL is a collection of slacker fabulist stories that are at once speculative, hilarious, and poignant.

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
7.13 Books
Publish Date
March 27, 2019
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.51 X 0.38 X 8.5 inches | 0.46 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781732868625
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

Reviews

"Josh Denslow's stories are intricate, fun, and beautiful, though always about heartbreak and loss. They're like perfect little castles made of jewels and lego bricks that rise out of a howling abyss." -Ben Loory, author of Tales of Falling and Flying

"Josh Denslow's Not Everyone is Special is truly irresistible. Subversive, hilarious, and profoundly moving, these stories should come with a warning label to clear your schedule before you begin because you'll find yourself binge reading the entire book. A sensational debut." -Kirstin Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take

"Denslow does something here that's refreshing and unique in the literary landscape: he skips the cynicism and heads right for the emotional honesty, producing some of the best dialogue (internal and external) that I've read in ages. This book is a genuinely warm and funny book about what it means to be a human in the modern world."--Amber Sparks, author of The Unfinished World

"Denslow makes his cast of outsiders, six-time losers, and lovelorn loners both heartbreaking and unforgettable. This debut collection sparkles with heart, bitter satire, and irresistible aplomb." -J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

"When we meet the characters in Josh Denslow's stories, they're almost always already in trouble, and then they go looking for even more--but they do so with such heart and humor that you'll inevitably fall in love with them, even (or especially) when they're behaving their well-meaning worst. Not Everyone is Special is a smart and funny debut, often satirical and always generous, perfect for fans of George Saunders or Sam Lipsyte." --Matt Bell, author of Scrapper