Nostalgia for the Future, Volume 21: Luigi Nono's Selected Writings and Interviews

Luigi Nono (Author) Veniero Rizzardi (Editor)
& 2 more

Product Details

University of California Press
Publish Date
October 23, 2018
6.0 X 8.9 X 1.3 inches | 1.2 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Italian avant-garde composer Luigi Nono (1924-1990) was part of the group of high modernists whose work dominated the post-war European music scene. Experimenting with sound and technology, Nono's compositions and writings frequently addressed the role of the arts in a progressive society.

Angela Ida De Benedictis is Curator and Research Associate at the Paul Sacher Foundation (Basel). She is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Luigi Nono Archive and Scientific Director of the Centro Studi Luciano Berio. Veniero Rizzardi is Professor at the State Conservatory of Padua and Adjunct Professor at the Ca' Foscari University in Venice. He is cofounder of the Luigi Nono Archive in Venice and also a curator of a new music series at the University of Padua. Both De Benedictis and Rizzardi have edited critical editions of music by Luigi Nono.


"The appeal of what the English music historian Harriet Boyd-Bennett called Nono's 'sonic hubub' is elucidated in this long overdue collection of the composer's writings and interviews. A comparable French edition of this material appeared back in 1993, which indicates how belated, albeit still timely, its insights are for opera lovers undeterred by avant garde sounds." --Opera Now