Nikki on the Line

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
March 05, 2019
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.3 X 7.7 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780316521901

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Barbara Carroll Roberts is a graduate of Hamline University's Writing for Children and Young Adults MFA program. She played competitive sports in high school and always wished there had been books in her library about athletic girls. That desire -- and the realization that there still aren't many books about girls who truly love sports -- inspired her to write this book. She lives outside of Washington, D.C. with her family and their many pets. This is her first novel. You can visit her at barbaracarrollroberts.com.

Reviews

"An optimistic middle-grade novel melding heartfelt realistic fiction and sports fare."--Kirkus Reviews
"In Nikki on the Line, Barbara Carroll Roberts crafts a compelling story of a girl trying to fit the pieces of her identity together at a time when everything around her is shifting. Layered, compassionate, and utterly engrossing."--Anne Ursu, author of The Lost Girl
Praise for Nikki on the Line A Spring 2019 Indies Introduce pickA Spring 2019 Indie Next List pick
"A tremendous book about basketball, taking risks, and becoming your true self."--Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor-winning and bestselling author
"I rooted for Nikki both on and off the court as she navigates changing friendships, tough competition, and the mystery of what makes us who we are."--Wendy Mass, New York Times bestselling author of A Mango-Shaped Space
"This charming and heartfelt debut is perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Kwame Alexander."
--Booklist
"This accessible coming-of-age story comes alive in its descriptions of basketball and the game's resulting life lessons."--School Library Journal
"Readers who enjoy sports stories as well as those who enjoy realistic fiction will instantly connect with Nikki."--School Library Connection