Naomis Too

Available

Description

A heartfelt, sweet, social justice-themed ode to blended and unconventional families--perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Lisa Graff, and Sara Pennypacker. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.


In this sequel to Two Naomis, now that Naomi Marie's mom and Naomi E.'s dad are married, the girls have learned to do a lot of things together, like All-Family Sunday dinners, sixth-grade homework, navigating the subway system by themselves, and visiting their favorite bakeries. Until sixth grade in a new school presents a whole new set of surprises and challenges.

Trusting her gut has worked for Naomi E. all her life, and she figures that it will be an asset to her role as a Peer Mediator--until she realizes how much of the job requires the Art of Compromise, which she's only just starting to get used to at home.

Naomi Marie is excited about making new friends--but she wants to keep old ones too. And when she sees that some in the school community have a hard time with the realities of "diversity in action," she wonders if the new members of her family can see those realities as well.

As the girls deal with the ups and downs of middle school and the mysteries of family dynamics, they learn that even when life and school try to drive you apart, it's ultimately easier to face everything together.

--The Horn Book

Product Details

Price
$7.99  $7.35
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
January 28, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.9 X 7.8 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062685162

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich made up stories for her little sister when she was young, including one "true story" that she'd starred on Sesame Street, but had turned herself invisible to viewers. Today, she writes fiction and nonfiction, including the NAACP Image Award nominee Two Naomis, with Audrey Vernick, and its sequel, Nerdy Book Club winner Naomis Too. She's the author of 8th Grade Superzero, a Notable Book for a Global Society, Someday is Now: Clara Luper and the 1958 Oklahoma City Sit-ins, a Notable Social Studies Trade Book, Above and Beyond: NASA's Journey to Tomorrow, and the editor of The Hero Next Door, a middle grade anthology from We Need Diverse Books. She lives with her family in NYC where she writes, makes things, and needs to get more sleep.

Audrey Vernick is the author of more than a dozen books for young readers, including Is Your Buffalo Ready For Kindergarten? and She Loved Baseball: The Effa Manley Story. She is also the coauthor of the middle grade novels Two Naomis and Naomis Too. Audrey enjoys visiting schools to speak with young readers and writers. She lives with her family near the ocean in New Jersey. Visit her online at www.audreyvernick.com.

Reviews

"A sequel that packs as much heart, humor, and understanding as the first."--Kirkus Reviews
"The characters navigate microaggressions and the challenges of allyship in an authentic manner."--The Horn Book
"Perfectly captures the wonder and sometime-challenges of adjusting to the "yes, and" experience of blended families."--Booklist
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "A smart, endearing story about two girls who are blending families, growing up, and building a friendship."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "This story of two families coming together is grounded and sweet...recommended for all children who appreciate realistic contemporary stories."--Booklist (starred review)
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "Warm, upbeat, and satisfying."--Publishers Weekly
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "A sweet coming-of-age story...Highly recommended"--School Library Journal
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "Rhuday-Perkovich and Vernick hit all the right sister notes with hilarity and heart. Hopefully we have not heard the last of these two Naomis."--Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor author of One Crazy Summer
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "This book won my heart with its laughter, love, and achingly-beautiful longing. Rhuday-Perkovich and Vernick are masters of All The Feels."--Tracey Baptiste, author of The Jumbies, a School Library Journal selection
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "This is a sweet, modern story about friendship, divorce, and blended families, told from alternating POVs by the two different authors." The Most Exciting Middle Grade Reads of Fall 2016--Brightly.com
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "Score one for blended families where race and mean-girl attitudes are not the issues, and where humor, compassion, and a shared love for baked goods bring people together."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Praise for TEACH YOUR BUFFALO TO PLAY DRUMS: "Several small pictures appear on most pages, surrounded by ample white space, showing the huge animal trying to engage in human activities like skateboarding and showering, resulting in some very funny scenarios."--School Library Journal
Praise for IS YOUR BUFFALO READY FOR KINDERGARTEN?: "Vernick's amusing tale will prove handy as a first-day-of-school book recommendation for children and teachers alike."--School Library Journal
Praise for TWO NAOMIS: "Will resonate with young readers who have experienced a change in family dynamics, particularly divorce."--The Horn Book