Nada: Una Novela

Carmen Laforet (Author) Mario Vargas Llosa (Introduction by)

Product Details

$18.00  $16.56
Modern Library
Publish Date
February 12, 2008
5.22 X 0.59 X 8.01 inches | 0.43 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Carmen Laforet was born in Barcelona in 1921 and had a profound impact on Spanish narrative literature. Her first novel, Nada, was awarded the first Premio Nadal in 1944, and is considered one of the most important works of post-Civil War Spain. She also wrote a collection of short stories and five other novels, including La mujer nueva, which won the National Prize for Literature in 1955, and Al doblar la esquina, which came out in 2004, the year of her death.

Edith Grossman is the distinguished translator of works by many other Spanish and Latin American writers, including Miguel de Cervantes, Gabriel García Márquez, Mario Vargas Llosa, and Álvaro Mutis. She is the recipient of two Translation of the Year awards from the American Literary Translators Association, and the 2006 PEN Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation. She lives in New York City.

Mario Vargas Llosa is one of Latin America's preeminent fiction writers and essayists. His novels include The Feast of the Goat, The Notebooks of Don Rigoberto, and Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter.


"Profundamente conmovedor y fascinante....una de las grandes clásicas de la literatura europea contemporánea." -- Carlos Ruiz Zafon, autor del bestseller La sombra del viento

"Un trabajo de genio [que recuerda] a Sartre y Camus a la vez más moderno y más vibrante." -- Los Angeles Times Book Review

"Una oscura obra de ficción hermosamente austere...Su inquietante relación con el clima politico y las actitudes sociales de la actualidad es dificíl de ignorar." -- San Fancisco Chronicle

"El espíritu de astuta resistencia que expresa la novela de ha perdido para nada su poder de persuasion." -- The New York Times Book Review