My Second Death

Lydia Cooper (Author)
Backorder

Product Details

Price
$16.95
Publisher
Gallery Books
Publish Date
January 18, 2013
Pages
335
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.0 X 8.3 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781440561290

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lydia Cooper is an assistant professor of American literature and has taught at universities and in community workshops. She has numerous academic publications, including peer-reviewed journals, a chapter in a book, and a book on Cormac McCarthy that was published as part of Louisiana State University Press's Southern Writers Series.

Reviews

"Literature professor Cooper's debut novel is a fast-paced psychological thriller with an unforgettable heroine. This damaged yet fiercely independent protagonist will appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson and Gillian Flynn." --Booklist

"Recommended for readers who enjoy mysteries and stories set in academia." --Library Journal

"'Mickey' Brandis... finds a ...corpse.... At first, Mickey's suspicions fall on a friend of her older brother... but both she and the reader come to realize that the truth is much more disturbing. Cooper's prose is full of dark beauty... those willing to stare into the recesses of the human psyche will be most rewarded." --Publishers Weekly

"Cooper is a nimble architect, deftly combining various raw materials to form a whole all her own. She's fastened a cerebral and gritty text from mystery, noir, comedy, and family tragedy elements. I was amazed at how all these things coexisted and thrived, forming a mesmerizing mosaic." --Joshua Mohr, author of Termite Parade and Damascus

"The ingenuity of the novel lies not in plot twists but in the way the binocular vision of the narrative goes in and out of focus whenever Mickey's emotional blind spots come into play. Cooper indulges in the sort of meticulous, highly metaphorical observations typical of much literary fiction.... This is the rare case where that sort of writing seems merited.... Mickey will never be endearing, but her struggle to understand herself and her world becomes more compelling than the solution to any crime." --Salon.com

"Mickey is a fascinating character. The author's skill lies in making us see past the horrors Mickey conjures for us to catch a glimpse of the vulnerable, damaged soul beneath. I should mention there's some really good humour in there too...and some wonderful use of language.... A debut that makes me both eager and terrified to see where this author takes me in the future." - Fiction Fan Blog

"After...gradually entering Mickey's life and her attempts to behave normally, I found myself invested in Mickey's everyday difficulties.... It is definitely an intriguing glimpse into a disturbed personality trying to overcome her own deficiencies." - Book Garden blog

"I found myself smiling at how carefully it was constructed, how lyrically it was written. It really is a skillfully written book.... This is definitely one I'd recommend to lovers of thrillers as well as literary fiction, and it's not every day I can recommend one book for both of those genres!" - Carabosse's Library blog