My Kind of People

Lisa Duffy (Author) David Sadzin (Read by)
& 2 more
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

From the author of The Salt House and This Is Home comes a profound novel about the power of community and a small town's long-buried secrets as a group of New England islanders come together for a recently orphaned girl. On Ichabod Island, a jagged strip of land thirteen miles off the coast of Massachusetts, ten-year-old Sky becomes an orphan for the second time after a tragic accident claims the lives of her adoptive parents. Grieving the death of his best friends, Leo's life is turned upside down when he finds himself the guardian of young Sky. Back on the island and struggling to balance his new responsibilities and his marriage to his husband, Leo is supported by a powerful community of neighbors, many of them harboring secrets of their own. Maggie, who helps with Sky's childcare, has hit a breaking point with her police chief husband, who becomes embroiled in a local scandal. Her best friend Agnes, the island busybody, invites Sky's estranged grandmother to stay for the summer, straining already precarious relationships. Their neighbor Joe struggles with whether to tell all was not well in Sky's house in the months leading up to the accident. And among them all is a mysterious woman, drawn to Ichabod to fulfill a dying wish. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Leary, My Kind of People is a riveting, impassioned novel about the resilience of community and what connects us all in the face of tragedy.

Product Details

Price
$39.99  $35.99
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Audio
Publish Date
May 12, 2020
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.1 X 5.8 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781797109879

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lisa Duffy is the author of The Salt House, named by Real Simple as a Best Book of the Month upon its June release and one of Bustle's 17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017, and This is Home, a favorite book club pick. Lisa received her MFA in creative writing from the University of Massachusetts. Her writing can be found in numerous publications, including Writer's Digest. She lives in the Boston area with her husband and three children. My Kind of People is her third novel.
When he was seven, David Sadzin's first grade teacher gave him a paragraph to read out loud. She interrupted him halfway to proclaim him The Ringmaster in his class's musical extravaganza about the circus. He's been using his voice to get out of trouble ever since. After a few intense years on New York's stages, performing traditional and experimental theater, improv, and sketch comedy, he's now settled comfortably in front of the mic in his home studio in Brooklyn.

With an MFA in acting from the University of Iowa, Joniece Abbott-Pratt has performed on regional theater stages across the country, including the Public Theater in New York City. She has also appeared on numerous television shows, including The Good Fight, Law and Order: SVU, Luke Cage, and Orange Is the New Black.

Nancy Linari is an actress and Eaphones Award-winning narrator. She has appeared on Fringe, Brothers and Sisters, Desperate Housewives, Grey's Anatomy, and General Hospital. Her theater credits include I'm Getting My Act Together and Taking It on the Road, and I'm Not Rappaport.

Reviews

"This multi-generational tale shows off Lisa Duffy's true talent for capturing voice and making her readers feel every emotion right along with her characters...Duffy's writing positively shines."

-- "Kristy Woodson, internationally bestselling author"