My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker

Melissa Burch (Author)
Available

Description

MEMOIR 2017 SILVER WINNER OF IBPA BENJAMIN FRANKLIN AWARD - 2016 SILVER Foreword INDIES AWARD WINNER -

For readers of Cheryl Strayed, Martha Beck, and Elizabeth Gilbert

In this adventurous spiritual memoir, Melissa Burch discovers that by facing her near death, living outside her comfort zone and trusting her intuition, she could find herself and set a new course for her life.

"My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker" is based on Melissa Burch's experiences as a war journalist for BBC, CBS, and other networks. Her team was one of the first documentary crews allowed in the Soviet Union at the height of the Cold War, and she was featured in a New York Times story about her time in Afghanistan. She was just in her twenties when she traveled with the mujahideen, filmed an attack on a Soviet convoy, slept with an Afghan commander, and climbed 14,000-foot mountains in the Hindu Kush.

"My Journey Through War and Peace" examines how, through outward action and inward exploration, life can unfold in mysterious ways, far beyond cultural and family expectations. In looking back at this momentous decade, Burch shares why she pursued such dangerous and difficult circumstances at such a young age and continued to live on the edge. She now understands that she was seeking self-discovery, a connection to something greater, and ultimately inner peace. This exciting adventurous spiritual memoir will resonate with fans of "Eat Pray Love," "Wild," and other popular memoirs that describe extraordinary inner and outer journeys.

Praise for My Journey Through War and Peace

"Grittier than Eat Pray Love."

Amazon Reviewer

"Burch's memoir recounts her remarkable experiences over eight years as a photographer covering the war in Soviet-occupied Afghanistan in the 1980s and as a filmmaker, and also her own personal and spiritual journey as a young woman.... Her accounts provide revealing glimpses into the conflict, Afghan culture, and the dangers of war reporting, particularly for a woman."

Publishers Weekly

"In this memoir, a documentary filmmaker describes her dramatic journeys, both outward and inward... An absorbing, well-written memoir by a brave adventurer who discovered her own life."

Kirkus Reviews

"At twenty-two, Melissa Burch headed to Afghanistan with a camera... determined to film a war for CBS and to find herself. MY JOURNEY THROUGH WAR AND PEACE is the dizzying and dazzling account of that journey."

Foreword Reviews

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.71
Publisher
Gaia Press
Publish Date
August 04, 2016
Pages
208
Dimensions
5.51 X 0.44 X 8.5 inches | 0.54 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780989342971

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Melissa Burch has worked as a filmmaker for CBS and the BBC, was featured in The New York Times, produced a national public television series, co-hosted a radio show on Voice America, and has been a spiritual seeker for over thirty years. Her book, "My Journey Through War and Peace", describes her adventures in war zones in Afghanistan and the Soviet Union and her peace efforts during the Cold War, as well has her inward spiritual journey. She was the executive producer of "Women in Limbo Presents," a national public television series about women s lives, and served as president of the New York Film/Video Council. Her book, "The Four Methods of Journal Writing: Finding Yourself Through Memoir", was a #1 Amazon bestseller and is still in the top 10 in its category. She is also a homeopath, co-founded the Catalyst School of Homeopathy, and produced and hosted one of the first successful radio shows on Voice America on homeopathy.

Reviews

"Burch's memoir recounts her remarkable experiences over eight years as a photographer covering the war in Soviet-occupied Afghanistan in the 1980s and as a filmmaker, and also her own personal and spiritual journey as a young woman.... Her accounts provide revealing glimpses into the conflict, Afghan culture, and the dangers of war reporting, particularly for a woman." -- Publishers Weekly "Personal growth, international events, the power of images and of individual experience ... Burch's Journey ... [shows] how strange connections can shape the future of both individuals and nations. A great read, highly recommended." -- Davide Mana, Karavansara Blog "Melissa's ... account of travels into Afghanistan, Soviet Union, and living as a filmmaker in the NYC 80's art scene is intense, raw and enchanting. She has a story that must be told and she does so with a new and charismatic voice." -- Susana Aikin, Emmy Award winning documentary filmmaker of Transformations "Melissa's true life story is not only fascinating but she had me riveted to every word on the page. Her openness to exploring new horizons, ... eliciting meaning out of her experiences, and incorporating the lessons in the next step of her journey are totally relevant to the needs of all of us today." --Kate Soudant, Editor "Melissa Burch's memoir is the best memoir I have read since "Girl in the Dark".... In our materialistic culture, about five hundred books a day are published and most of them have all the depth of a mud puddle. This work is a welcome change. Burch's psychological insights are very astute." --Ryan Tilley, Poet "In this memoir, a documentary filmmaker describes her dramatic journeys, both outward and inward. In 1982, Burch had just turned 21. Eager for adventure, she arranged a freelance assignment in Afghanistan to film the mujahedeen rebellion against Soviet invaders. There, she discovered a paradoxical peace amid war.... Writing with sensitivity and vivid clarity about her evolving self, Burch is unafraid to expose times when she was naïve, self-centered, or judgmental. It s fascinating, too, to read her insider details on documentary filmmaking in dangerous places, especially as a woman.... An absorbing, well-written memoir by a brave adventurer who discovered her own life." --Kirkus Reviews "At twenty-two, Melissa Burch headed to Afghanistan with a camera... determined to film a war for CBS and to find herself. {This} is the dizzying and dazzling account of that journey." --Foreword Reviews