Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight

Tony D'Souza (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$19.95
Publisher
Mariner Books
Publish Date
September 27, 2011
Pages
292
Dimensions
5.2 X 0.8 X 8.0 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780547576718
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tony D'Souza is the author of three novels, including the award-winning Whiteman. He has contributed to The New Yorker, Playboy, Esquire, Outside, Salon, Granta, McSweeney's, O. Henry Prize Stories, Best American Fantasy, and elsewhere. A recipient of the Sue Kaufman Prize, Florida Gold and Silver Medals for fiction, and fellowships from the Guggenheim and the NEA, Tony was nominated for a National Magazine Award for coverage of Nicaragua's Eric Volz murder trial and spent three years in Africa with the Peace Corps.

Reviews

An acutely detailed page-turner...
--Entertainment Weekly[D'Souza's] authorial voice is sharp and crisp, eschewing flowery prose for a hard-hitting narrative style that perfectly suits the page-turning, drugfueled tale. Fans of Toby Young and Max Barry and those who follow D'Souza's magazine work will greatly enjoy the timely, witty, fast-paced Mule.
--BooklistA smart and bracing ground-level exploration of the drug trade.
--KirkusMule is the sort of novel I love: it solves nothing but explains everything. It also, thanks to its wicked style and pacing, lets me forget I'm reading serious literature while I follow its terrifying story into the land of the all-American damned.
--Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air Mule is swift, taut, and relentless, both a rip-roaring drug tale and a fascinating portrait of a decent human being whose morals slowly disintegrate under unbearable financial strain. Tony D'Souza proves, yet again, that he is an immensely clever storyteller with plenty of talent to spare.
--Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of TempletonWith adrenaline-infused sentences and a seat-gripping storyline, Tony D'Souza has written one of the first great novels to emerge from our perplexing, endless recession. A heartfelt tale of one family's freefall, Mule is a novel that illuminates contemporary American desperation, both its dangerous precipices and its thrilling, overwhelming freedom.
--Dean Bakopoulos, author of My American Unhappiness