Mr. Flood's Last Resort

Jess Kidd (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Washington Square Press
Publish Date
March 12, 2019
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.0 X 8.1 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781501180644
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jess Kidd is the award-winning author of Himself, Mr. Flood's Last Resort, and Things in Jars. Learn more at JessKidd.com.

Reviews

Praise for Mr. Flood's Last Resort

"Jess Kidd delivers another charming mix of magic and mystery, this time wrapped around a tale of family love and dysfunction...The action-packed climax leaves us with the whiff of a sequel. We can only hope it will come soon."--Minneapolis Star Tribune

"The gothic plot of this murder mystery (following Himself) about an Irish caregiver and her client, a cantankerous, widowed hoarder, boasts Kidd's darkly comic sensibility, atmospheric writing, and colorful characters...there are plenty of twists and perilous turns to keep the narrative moving. Kidd's novel features a winning combination of descriptive writing, black humor, and biting dialogue." --Publishers Weekly

"Irish magical realism saturates this double mystery with saints, mistaken identities, and a hoarder's creepy house... The author of Himself has prepared a fine Irish feast for the literary crowd; she simultaneously delights and appalls with her odd and troubled characters, never resorting to formula."--Library Journal

"[This] compelling second novel weaves love, betrayal, and forgiveness with humor, mystery, and a bit of magic...[an] absorbing mix of paranormal tragedy and heartfelt triumph will appeal to a broad swath of readers." --Booklist

"It won't be like any other novel you've read this year--or maybe ever--but it's worth it."--Kirkus

"Jess Kidd's mysteries refuse to conform to genre in the most delicious of ways. She sculpts her imaginative storylines with a deft hand managing to bring otherworldly elements into the intriguing mystery at the center of her plot."
--Electric Literature

"A magically entertaining read...Jess Kidd has a gift for creating characters you'll love with a few cleverly chosen words." --Good Housekeeping (UK), Book of the Month

"A rare delight." --Cosmopolitan (UK)

"An enchanting thriller that disarms and delights...will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure."--BookPage