Mississippi Vegan: Recipes and Stories from a Southern Boy's Heart: A Cookbook

Available

Product Details

Price
$35.00  $32.20
Publisher
Avery Publishing Group
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
8.2 X 1.1 X 10.1 inches | 2.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780735218147
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Timothy Pakron is a passionate cook, artist, photographer, and creator of the popular blog Mississippi Vegan. Before devoting himself to the culinary arts, he spent time as a fine artist in Charleston, South Carolina, and New York City. While living in NYC, he created the concept of Mississippi Vegan, merging his past and his present while celebrating kindness to animals through delicious food. His cookbook was released in the fall of 2018 with Avery. Pakron currently lives and works in New Orleans.

Reviews

"Tim's the real deal--he forages, cooks, and shoots his own beautiful photos. You're going to love this book."
--Jamie Oliver

"A wildly talented photographer... Pakron follows in the tradition of Truman Capote, Eugene Walter, Ryan Gainey and Scott Peacock to evince a lush tribute to a mythic time and place."
--The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"From the state that gave us Eudora Welty, William Faulkner, Tennessee Williams, Donna Tartt and Julia Reed, Mississippi Vegan is a soulful and affecting self-portrait by a Southern original."
--The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"Inspired by plants and mushrooms and the complex flavors and rich history of southern style cooking, Timothy's culinary world is a magical one. Here he shares his secrets for achieving delicious and deeply satisfying vegan meals--I'm thrilled to finally be able to make his famous gumbo in my own kitchen!"
--Amy Chaplin, James Beard award-winning author of At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen: Celebrating the Art of Eating Well

"Every component of this book is richly layered with vivid storytelling, a genuine loyalty to tradition, an angle of accessibility that doesn't dumb down when it comes to important regional ingredients, and the passion for a new world of flavor in vegan cuisine. Timothy opens up his culinary point of view in a stunningly beautiful way that aims straight for the heart. His joyful sincerity is encouraging and real."
--
Laura Wright, author of
The First Mess Cookbook

"I love how Timothy uses fresh, vibrant ingredients to create colorful dishes with a Southern twist. With its beautiful photography, accessible recipes, helpful guides, and lovely stories, Mississippi Vegan will most definitely become a staple in my kitchen."
--Linda Lomelino, author of Lomelino's Pies