Miss Meteor

Pre-Order   Ships Sep 22, 2020

Description

A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

There hasn't been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita Perez or Chicky Quintanilla in all its history.

But that's not the only reason Lita wants to enter the contest, or her ex-best friend Chicky wants to help her. The road to becoming Miss Meteor isn't about being perfect; it's about sharing who you are with the world--and loving the parts of yourself no one else understands.

So to pull off the unlikeliest underdog story in pageant history, Lita and Chicky are going to have to forget the past and imagine a future where girls like them are more than enough--they are everything.

--Shaun David Hutchinson, award-winning author of We Are the Ants, The State of Us, and Brave Face: A Memoir

Product Details

Price
$17.98  $16.54
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
September 22, 2020
Pages
400
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062869913

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. When she's not writing, you can find her plucking at her guitar, stealing rosemary sprigs from overgrown gardens, or trying to make the perfect vegan tamale. Her short fiction appears in the All Out and Toil & Trouble anthologies from Harlequin Teen, and her debut YA fantasy novel, We Set the Dark on Fire, came out in February 2019 from Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins with five starred reviews. Her Twitter handle is @tehlorkay.
Anna-Marie McLemore was born in the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains and taught by their family to hear la llorona in the Santa Ana winds. They are the author of THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS, a 2016 William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist; 2017 Stonewall Honor Book WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS, which was longlisted for the National Book Award in Young People's Literature; WILD BEAUTY, a Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Booklist best book of 2017; BLANCA & ROJA, a New York TimesBook Review Editors' Choice; DARK AND DEEPEST RED, a Winter 2020 Indie Next List title; and the forthcoming THE MIRROR SEASON.

Reviews

"A luminous romp of a book that is both hilarious and tender. Mejia and McLemore have gifted us with a story that celebrates the eternal power of friendship."--Abdi Nazemian, author of the Stonewall Honor-winning Like a Love Story