Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies

Vicky Zimmerman (Author)
Available

Description

"A can't-miss title for fans of chick lit and modern women's fiction."--Library Journal, STARRED review

An unlikely friendship between two stubborn, lonely souls anchors this big-hearted book and dares us all to ask for more.

When her life falls apart on the eve of her 40th birthday, Kate Parker finds herself volunteering at the Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies. There she meets 97-year-old Cecily Finn. Cecily's tongue is as sharp as her mind, but she's fed up with pretty much everything.

Having no patience for Kate's choices in life or love, Cecily prescribes her a self-help book...of sorts. Thought for Food: an unintentionally funny 1950s cookbook high on enthusiasm, featuring menus for anything life can throw at the "easily dismayed," such as:
  • Breakfast with a Hangover
  • Tea for a Crotchety Aunt
  • Dinner for a Charming Stranger
  • As she and Cecily break out of their ruts, Kate will learn far more than recipes.

    A feel-good summer read with a wicked sense of humor, Vicky Zimmerman's book will teach you that food is for feasting, friends are for savoring, and the way to a man's heart is...irrelevant.

    Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Elin Hildenbrand, and Sophie Kinsella will delight in this recipe for confidence, romance, and fun.

    Product Details

    Price
    $16.99  $15.63
    Publisher
    Sourcebooks Landmark
    Publish Date
    June 09, 2020
    Pages
    432
    Dimensions
    5.4 X 1.3 X 8.2 inches | 0.85 pounds
    Language
    English
    Type
    Paperback
    EAN/UPC
    9781728210230
    BISAC Categories:

    Earn by promoting books

    Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

    Become an affiliate

    About the Author

    Vicky Zimmerman lives in London. She worked in marketing and as a food tester at a major UK supermarket before leaving to write full-time. She has written for The Guardian and The Observer as well as for women's magazines, specifically on food, body image, and dating. Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies is inspired by her own grandmother's 1950s cookbook.

    Reviews

    "Zimmerman adeptly juggles entertainment with deeper themes of longing and loss in this appetizing novel." - Booklist
    A can't-miss title for fans of chick lit and modern women's fiction.
    A beautiful, thoughtful read about love, friendship and food with shades of Nora Ephron's Heartburn and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. Read it and then give a copy to all of your friends.
    Beautifully written, full of insight and food. This is one of those I carried round the house wanting to read it every spare second.
    Wise, warm, witty and mouth-watering - this wonderful book has it all . . . Hungry for a love story with added bite? With deliciously real characters, a sprinkling of humour, a pinch of pathos and huge helping of wisdom, this book has all the ingredients to become this summer's must-read.