Mirrorland

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Scribner Book Company
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.2 X 9.1 X 1.2 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781982136352

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Carole Johnstone's award-winning short fiction has appeared in annual "Best of" anthologies in the US and UK. She lives in Argyll & Bute, Scotland, with her husband. Mirrorland is first debut novel.

Reviews

"I loved Mirrorland. It's dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker's precision." --Stephen King

"In this unsettling, labyrinthine tale, it is hard at first to tell who the villain is--or even how many villains there are in a family with a great deal to hide. The book unlocks its mysteries slowly, twisting the knife a little deeper with each revelation." --Sarah Lyall, The New York Times Book Review

"Fans of twist-filled thrillers, look no further than Johnstone's tale of estranged twins who invented their own dark and imaginary world." --E! News

"Johnstone has plenty of tricks up her sleeve in this suspenseful tale of betrayal and revenge, memory and imagination, and the thin line between love and hate." --Business Insider

"Enthralling . . . a dark, twisting thriller that explores the pitch-black corners of people's minds; how good and bad, love and hate, terror and joy can co-exist; and how childhood memories can be rewritten with time as the lines between imagination and reality are blurred. Fans of Gillian Flynn's creeping dread and Liane Moriarty's nuanced morality and complex relationships should love this book." --Kirkus Reviews

"This ambitious blend of psychological suspense and horror casts a powerful light on the liberating power of imagination." --Publishers Weekly

"Carole Johnstone's debut feels like the love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland, nothing is as it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until you reach the gasp-out-loud ending." --Greer Hendricks, #1 New York Times best-selling co-author of The Wife Between Us

"A dark, twisty and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination" --Ruth Ware, author of One by One and The Woman in Cabin 10

"A dark and twisty thriller told with thumping heart and extraordinary tenderness--Mirrorland is as much a celebration of imagination and its escapism as an examination of trauma and its echoes." --Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

"A sinister study in estranged sisterhood and the shapeshifting powers of repression and denial. Thick with propulsive twists and immensely readable." --Sue Rainsford, author of Follow Me to Ground

"Mirrorland is pitched as Gone Girl meets Room, and we can hardly wait!"--Buzzfeed, Mystery/Thrillers We're Highly Anticipating in 2021

"Thrilling, dark, and propulsive, Mirrorland is an unsettling shape-shifter of a novel. This is a story about a mysterious death and a long-buried secret, but it's also a fascinating, terrifying portrait of how we seek refuge in our imaginations--and how easily imagination can be confused with reality." --Anna Pitoniak, author of Necessary People

"An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca . . . atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn." --Sarah Pinborough, author of Dead to Her and Behind Her Eyes