Migrations

Charlotte McConaghy (Author) Barrie Kreinik (Read by)
Available

Description

Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer. --Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds--and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean's tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world's last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny's new shipmates begin to realize that she is full of dark secrets: night terrors, an unsent pile of letters, and an obsession with pursuing the terns at any cost. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward--and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Charlotte McConaghy's Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking story about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books

Transfixing, gorgeously precise...[The] evocation of a world bereft of wildlife is piercing; Franny's otherworldliness is captivating; and her misadventures and anguished secrets are gripping." - Booklist, starred review

Migrations is a nervy and well-crafted novel, one that lingers long after its voyage is over. It's a story about our mingling sorrows, both personal and global, and the survivor's guilt that will be left in their wake. - New York Times Book Review

Migrations is a wonder. I read it in a gasp. There is hope in these pages; a balm for these troubled times. Charlotte McConaghy's words cut through to the bone.- Lara Prescott, New York Times bestselling author of The Secrets We Kept

Product Details

Price
$39.99  $36.79
Publisher
MacMillan Audio
Publish Date
August 04, 2020
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.9 X 5.8 inches | 0.48 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781250751492
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.

Reviews

"Gutting and gorgeous, Migrations is an astounding meditation on love, trauma, and the cost of survival. With soulful prose and deep empathy, Charlotte McConaghy weaves parallel stories of a woman and a world on the brink of devastation, but never without hope. Equal parts love letter and dirge, this is a true force of a book that I read holding my breath from its start to its symphonic finish." --Julia Fine, author of What Should Be Wild

"Few books have so completely enveloped me into the character's life (and entwining with mine as well) as Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy. Reminiscent of Annie Proulx's honest and raw words, this story is poetic and melancholic, with bursts of insight." --Michelle Bear, Edmonds Bookshop, Edmonds, WA