Mighty, Mighty

Wally Rudolph (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$15.95  $14.67
Publisher
Soft Skull Press
Publish Date
October 13, 2015
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.1 X 0.9 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781593766238
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Wally Rudolph, born in Canada to Jamaican parents, had a fifteen-year affair with illicit drugs that had him drop out of college and took him back and forth across the American Midwest. His fiction can be found in the literary journals Milk Money, Lines+Stars, Palooka, Slush Pile, The Brooklyner, and the anthology, Literary: Pasadena. A graduate of The Second City Conservatory in Chicago, he now resides with his family in Los Angeles. As an actor, he has appeared in numerous films and TV shows including Street Kings, Bang Bang, and Sons of Anarchy. Rudolph is also the author of Four Corners.

Reviews

Praise for Mighty Mighty

"Like a fine tattoo artist blending blood and ink, Rudolph engraves portraits of complicated individuals onto the rough skin of Mighty, Mighty with no antiseptic -- only the recalcitrant images of real people in pain . . . A masterful sophomore effort (following the success of Rudolph's Four Corners), Mighty, Mighty is a love story of human detritus in concrete jungles, intricately inked into a scarred, yet majestic tattoo. Fans of Barry Hannah, Daniel Woodrell, Denis Johnson, and Pedro Juan Gutiรฉrrez will find it hard to put this novel down."--Los Angeles Review of Books

"Mighty, Mighty is a gem: dark, hard, and filled with surprising beauty. It is also noir as hell, filled with the kind of people you always worried were down at that bar on the corner, waiting to turn on you." --Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland, Finalist for the 2014 Hammett Prize

"Mighty, Mighty is a hard-boiled hat trick of a novel: a searing family drama, a gripping crime thriller, and a raw, unflinching portrait of lives lived on America's violent edge." --Scott O'Connor, author of Half World and Untouchable

"Rudolph writes with personality, each page tattooing itself straight on your brain. Mighty Mighty has voice, that elusive, unteachable, and beautiful trait." --Joshua Mohr, author of All This Life

"Mighty Mighty lets it all hang out, a boldly affecting story written with flow and swagger, like the best hip-hop." --Mark Haskell Smith, author of Raw: A Love Story

"A wild, violent ride of a page turner, Mighty, Mighty is also a thoughtful contemplation on how we love and grieve. A beautiful book that wears its messy, empathetic heart on its sleeve." --Rob Roberge, author of The Cost of Living

Praise for Four Corners

"Wally Rudolph's meth-and-cocaine-addled protagonists reel through a nonstop catastrophe of violence, flight, and revenge, too self-destructive to have anything more than a prayer--but they are real. They suffer and love and worship, however crazily. The action is urgent and compelling, the details are as crisp as the light that falls on Santa Fe. Wally knows the territory. And the territory is the human heart." --Jack Butler, Pulitzer Prize Finalist for Living in Little Rock with Miss Little Rock

"Four Corners is a book that will stay with me for a long time, an outstanding first novel by a writer unafraid to scrape the crud off the floor of the human psyche. The best kind of crime fiction." --Scott Phillips, author of The Ice Harvest and Hop Alley

"Rudolph means to stress that hard-luck people can be as hard to quit as hard drugs, and the tone the author gives Frank is appealingly flinty and worn...The strength of Frank's voice...recalls down-and-out tales like Don Carpenter's Hard Rain Falling or Daniel Woodrell's Give Us a Kiss." --Kirkus

"...the plot is rendered in vivid, punch-drunk prose, colored by the cold, jaundiced sunlight of late December in the high desert, a land so imbued with harshness that even its snowflakes prick the flesh." --LA Weekly