Mercy House

Alena Dillon (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.98  $15.62
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
February 11, 2020
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.0 X 0.9 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062914804

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alena Dillon's work has appeared in Slice Magazine, The Rumpus, and Seventh Wave, among others. She earned her MFA from Fairfield University.

Reviews

"A life-altering debut featuring fierce, funny, and irreverent women who battle the most powerful institution in the world. This is the book we've all been waiting for."
--Amy Schumer
"In Mercy House, Alena Dillon gives us one of fiction's more unlikely lovable heroines: elderly, dynamic Sister Evelyn, whose tale--and that of her housemates--is as unexpected as it is moving. This is a thoughtful, accomplished debut."--Therese Ann Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of Z, A Well-Behaved Woman, and A Good Neighborhood
"Never underestimate the power of a group of women. Fierce, thoughtful, and dramatic--this is a story of true courage."--Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author
"...Dillon's debut novel is heartwarming to its core. With a widely diverse cast of supporting characters, author Dillon brings Bed-Stuy to life. Realistic in scope and pious without being preachy, Mercy House will appeal to fans of Naomi Ragen's The Devil in Jerusalem (2015) and Autumn J. Bright's Lovely (2017)."--Booklist
"Dillon's debut novel is heartwarming and easy to read, it never glosses over the history of abuse and sexism in the Catholic church...Those interested in religious fiction will also appreciate a simple narrative tackling complex church events. Perfect for reading groups."--Library Journal
"[A] stirring, fiery debut...Dillon balances her protagonist's righteous anger with an earnest exploration of Evie's faith and devotion to justice and community service. This uncompromising story will light up book clubs."--Publishers Weekly
"For fans of Ann Patchett's The Patron Saint of Liars or Maile Meloy's Liars and Saints, Mercy House is a must-read."--San Francisco Book Review