Melting World

Available

Product Details

Price
$34.99  $32.19
Publisher
St. Martins Press-3PL
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
6.35 X 1.02 X 9.55 inches | 1.08 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780312546281

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

CHRISTOPHER WHITE has written several books, including Skipjack: The Story of America's Last Sailing Oystermen, and written for National Geographic, Exploration, and other publications. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Reviews

"An act of witness to a disappearing world, and an implicit call to action to save what we can, this book is a great gift to us all!" --Bill McKibben, author Oil and Honey: The Making of an Unlikely Activist

"The Melting World is both a hymn of praise and a requiem for the passing beauty of alpine snowfields. In the tradition of John McPhee and Norman Maclean, Christopher White chronicles the men and women racing against climate change to understand the mysteries of the frozen world, even as it inexorably disappears from view. Rich in vivid detail and lovely prose, White's gorgeous and heartbreaking book will appeal to adventurers and scientists and anyone else who cares for our beloved planet." --McKay Jenkins, author of The White Death: Tragedy and Heroism in an Avalanche Zone