Lunch Will Never Be the Same! #1

Available

Product Details

Price
$6.99  $6.43
Publisher
Penguin Workshop
Publish Date
Pages
128
Dimensions
5.1 X 7.6 X 0.3 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780593096895

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Veera Hiranandani is the author of The Night Diary (Kokila), which received the 2019 Newbery Honor Award, the 2019 Walter Dean Myers Honor Award, and the 2018 Malka Penn Award for Human Rights in Children's Literature. The Night Diary has been featured on NPR's Weekend Edition, is a New York Times Editor's Choice Pick, and was chosen as a 2018 Best Children's Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, NPR, Amazon, School Library Journal, and Kirkus Reviews, among others. She is also the author of The Whole Story of Half a Girl (Yearling), which was named a Sydney Taylor Notable Book and a South Asian Book Award Finalist. She earned her MFA in fiction writing at Sarah Lawrence College. A former book editor at Simon & Schuster, she now teaches creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College's Writing Institute and is working on her next novel.

Christine Almeda is a Filipino-American freelance illustrator from NJ/NYC, and is the illustrator for Scholastic's Sarai Gonzalez series. She graduated from Montclair State University, earning a BFA and an Award for Excellence in Animation & Illustration, focusing on children's media. Christine believes in the power of storytelling and that art has the ability to make life a little more beautiful.

Reviews

"Hiranandani has a light touch when exploring the friendship issues of these three likable characters. Nothing is over-the-top, and the plot is fun and easy to understand for the newest chapter-book readers. Gently humorous black-and-white illustrations pair nicely with the text. With all the foodies out there, this delightful series deserves a long shelf life...and many more courses."--Kirkus Reviews

"The plot is engaging and easy to follow. The cartoon illustration, some full page, funny and enhance the text. Fans of Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody or those who like realistic fiction and friendship stories will enjoy this chapter book."--School Library Journal

"This is a splendid attempt to convey several lessons about growing pains to young readers, with age-appropriate humor via an outspoken, lovable, take-charge narrator. Dreidemy's wiggly spot illustrations, meanwhile, supply plenty of nervous energy."--Booklist