Losers Bracket

Chris Crutcher (Author)
Available

Description

When a family argument turns into an urgent hunt for a missing child, seventeen-year-old Annie Boots must do everything in her power to bring her nephew home safely. Chris Crutcher, the acclaimed and bestselling author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, shares a provocative story about family, loss, and loyalty that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Laurie Halse Anderson. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books called Losers Bracket "Genuine and affecting."

When it comes to family, Annie is in the losers bracket. While her foster parents are great (mostly), her birth family would not have been her first pick. And no matter how many times Annie tries to write them out of her life, she always gets sucked back into their drama. Love is like that.

But when a family argument breaks out at Annie's swim meet and her nephew goes missing, Annie might be the only one who can get him back. With help from her friends, her foster brother, and her social service worker, Annie puts the pieces of the puzzle together, determined to find her nephew and finally get him into a safe home.

Award-winning author Chris Crutcher's books are strikingly authentic and unflinchingly honest. Losers Bracket is by turns gripping, heartbreaking, hopeful, and devastating, and hits the sweet spot for fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Product Details

Price
$9.99
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
Publish Date
April 02, 2019
Pages
256
Dimensions
5.3 X 8.0 X 0.7 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062220080

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Chris Crutcher has written nine critically acclaimed novels, an autobiography, and two collections of short stories. Drawing on his experience as a family therapist and child protection specialist, Crutcher writes honestly about real issues facing teenagers today: making it through school, competing in sports, handling rejection and failure, and dealing with parents. He has won three lifetime achievement awards for the body of his work: the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the ALAN Award, and the NCTE National Intellectual Freedom Award. Chris Crutcher lives in Spokane, Washington.

Reviews

"Crutcher's...expertise gives the narrative, about the harsh realities of what happens when kids are failed by both their parents and the state, its authenticity."--Publishers Weekly
"Annie's voice is strong and often bracing...An appealing narrative voice and fast-moving plot that will engage readers from the first page."--School Library Journal
"Crutcher tells a story that is genuine and affecting in its engagement with complications within the foster care system. ...a critique of the status quo of social services, but this novel is also effective in portraying how truly messy it all can be."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"This novel is as engaging as it is heartbreaking. Annie's story is poignant and hopeful, with dashes of sass, humor, and devastation. ...This is a recommendation read for fans of Andrew Smith, Marieke Nijkamp...[and] those who enjoy riveting realistic fiction."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)