Lord Peter



One of the founding mothers of mystery, Dorothy L. Sayers first introduced the popular character Lord Peter Wimsey in 1923 with the publication of Whose Body? Over the next twenty years, more novels and short stories about the aristocratic amateur sleuth appeared, each one as cunningly written as the next. Now in a single volume, here are all of the Lord Peter Wimsey stories: a treasure for any mystery lover. From The Fantastic Horror of the Cat in the Bag to The Image in the Mirror and Talboys, this collection is Lord Peter at his best--and a true testament to the art of detective fiction.

--San Francisco Examiner Chronicle

Product Details

$16.99  $15.63
Harper Paperbacks
Publish Date
July 09, 2013
5.3 X 0.91 X 8.04 inches | 0.89 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dorothy Sayers was born in Oxford to Reverend Henry Sayers. She grew up to major in modern languages and then work in publishing and later as a copywriter. She published her debut novel, Whose Body? in 1923, and it became the first of her fourteen-part mystery series. After first creating a play based on her mystery series, she began writing more plays, including The Man to Be Born King, which faced much opposition for having the character of Christ speak in modern English. Sayers passed away in England in 1956.


"She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence and wit. She gave it a new style and a new direction, and she did more than almost any other writer of her age to make the genre intellectually respectable."--P.D. James
"What could be of greater joy to Wimsey fanciers than this volume of all the short stories about him?"--San Francisco Examiner Chronicle
"A classic collection from 'one of the greatest mystery-story writers of the [twentieth] century'"--Los Angeles Times