Longbourn

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
Vintage
Publish Date
Pages
331
Dimensions
5.37 X 0.81 X 8.01 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780345806970
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jo Baker was born in Lancashire, England, and educated at Oxford University and Queen's University Belfast. She is the author of the novels The Underยญtow, Offcomer, The Mermaid's Child, and The Telling. She lives in Lancaster.

Reviews

A Best Book of the Year Selection: New York Times 100 Notable, Seattle Times, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Kirkus Reviews

"Rich, engrossing, and filled with fascinating observations. . . . If you are a Jane Austen fan . . . you will devour Jo Baker's ingenious Longbourn."
--O, The Oprah Magazine

"Original and charming, even gripping, in its own right."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Masterful."
--The Miami Herald

"A witty, richly detailed re-imagining. . . . Fans of Austen and Downton Abbey will take particular pleasure in Longbourn, but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker's involving, informative tale."
--People

"A bold novel, subversive in ways that prove surprising, and brilliant on every level."
--USA Today

"Delightful."
--The New Yorker

"A triumph: a splendid tribute to Austen's original but, more importantly, a joy in its own right, a novel that contrives both to provoke the intellect and, ultimately, to stop the heart."
--The Guardian (London)

"[A] fitting tribute, inventing a touching love story of its own."
--The Wall Street Journal

"A freshly egalitarian reimagining."
--Vogue

"[Baker's] writing style draws admirably from Austen's."
--Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Engaging and rewarding."
--The Washington Times

"Longbourn is told with glee and great wit."
--The Daily Beast

"The Bennet family's servants imagined by Baker have richly complicated lives and loyalties. . . . Baker deserves a bouquet. . . . Refreshing."
--The Seattle Times

"There's a finale so back-of-the-hand-to-the-forehead romantic, someone should render it in needlepoint."
--Entertainment Weekly

"Excellent. . . . In Sarah the housemaid, Baker has created a heroine, living in the same house as Elizabeth Bennet, who manages to shine despite Elizabeth's long literary shadow."
--Christian Science Monitor

"Lively. . . . Baker's vivid passages about the natural world, working conditions and even of sorrow are . . . well detailed and articulated."
--The Plain Dealer

"Longbourn is a really special book, and not only because its author writes like an angel. . . . There are some wildly sad and romantic moments; I was sobbing by the end. . . . Beautiful." --Wendy Holden, Daily Mail (London)

"Inspired. . . . This is a genuinely fresh perspective on the tale of the Bennet household. . . . A lot of fun."
--Sunday Times (London)

"This clever glimpse of Austen's universe through a window clouded by washday steam is so compelling it leaves you wanting to read the next chapter in the lives below stairs rather than peer at the reflections of any grand party in the mirrors of Netherfield."
--Daily Express (London)

"Impressive. . . . An engrossing tale we neither know nor expect."
--Daily Telegraph (London)