Little Mercies (Original)

Available

Description

In her latest ripped-from-the-headlines tour de force, New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf shows how one small mistake can have life-altering consequences...

Veteran social worker Ellen Moore has seen the worst side of humanity--the vilest acts one person can commit against another. She is a fiercely dedicated children's advocate and a devoted mother and wife. But one blistering summer day, a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear, and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.

Meanwhile, ten-year-old Jenny Briard has been living with her well-meaning but irresponsible father since her mother left them, sleeping on friends' couches and moving in and out of cheap motels. When Jenny suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen's and Jenny's lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.

A powerful and emotionally charged tale about motherhood and justice, Little Mercies is a searing portrait of the tenuous grasp we have on the things we love the most, and of the ties that unexpectedly bring us together.

Product Details

Price
$15.95  $14.67
Publisher
Mira Books
Publish Date
June 24, 2014
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.1 X 8.2 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780778316336
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Heather Gudenkauf is the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence, These Things Hidden, One Breath Away and Little Mercies. She lives in Iowa with her husband and children.

Reviews

"Compelling... gripping."
-Publishers Weekly

"Gudenkauf's prose is searingly raw....Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult."
-Booklist

"Deeply moving and exquisitely lyrical, this is a powerhouse of a novel."

-Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author, on The Weight of Silence

"A tense and profoundly emotional story...told with compassion and honesty. Heather Gudenkauf skillfully weaves an explosive tale of suspense and ultimately, the healing power of love."

-Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author on The Weight of Silence

"Fans of Jodi Picoult will devour this."

-Red magazine on The Weight of Silence

"Beautifully written, compassionately told, and relentlessly suspenseful."

-Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author, on The Weight of Silence

"A tale so chillingly real, it could have come from the latest headlines."

-Publishers Weekly on These Things Hidden, starred review

"Heather Gudenkauf has captured heart-wrenching emotion and spilled it out on the pages of her moving novel.... A remarkable story."

-Fresh Fiction on These Things Hidden

"One Breath Away takes the reader on an electrifying ride.... I dare you to forget it."

-Elizabeth Flock, New York Times bestselling author

"I have burns on my fingers from turning the pages too fast."

-Lesley Kagen, New York Times bestselling author, on One Breath Away