Little Faith

Nickolas Butler (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Ecco Press
Publish Date
March 05, 2019
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.3 X 1.4 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062469717

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Nickolas Butler was born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, and raised in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. He is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison as well as the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and the author of the novel The Hearts of Men, the internationally bestselling and prizewinning novel Shotgun Lovesongs, and the acclaimed short story collection Beneath the Bonfire. He lives in Wisconsin with his wife and their two children.

Reviews

"A novel as tender and generous as any I've read. It's a three a.m. I gotta get some sleep but can't stop reading sorta book. Heart stoppingly good."--Willy Vlautin, author of Lean on Pete and Don't Skip Out on Me
"Exploring the complexities of faith and family, Butler...also tackles the power and pitfalls of devout Christianity. Fans of Richard Russo and Jan Karon will appreciate Butler's sense of place, which lets seasonal shifts and harvest cycles propel the novel forward. Little Faith is quietly and deeply moving."--Booklist
"Powerful.... [Butler] skillfully handles the complicated--and heartbreaking--psychological and emotional complexities of this story, crafting a deeply moving novel about love, faith, and loss.... A beautifully realized meditation on the nature of parenting and living in a perplexing (and often cruel) world."--Library Journal (starred review)
"A heartland novel that evokes the possibility of everyday miracles.... Like a favorite flannel shirt, relaxed and comfortable, well-crafted even as it deals with issues of life and death, faith and doubt.... The novelist loves this land and these characters, with their enduring values."--Kirkus Reviews
"Breathtaking yet devastating.... Butler weaves questions surrounding faith, regret, and whether it's possible to love unconditionally into every page of this potent book.... This is storytelling at its finest."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A powerful story filled with deep emotion, no matter your religious proclivities.... [A] stark and honest discussion of faith and doubt."--Volume One
"[A] tender and perceptive novel.... An open-minded inquiry into the nature of religious belief, in both its zealous and low-key forms.... "Little Faith" is [Butler's] best so far, unafraid of sentiment yet free of the kitsch."--Wall Street Journal
"[Peopled with] regular folks, behind whose plain-spoken reserve and dry humor beats the heart of the country, at once practical and passionate, poetic and earthbound.... Butler is very good at getting...the routines and rituals as subtly infused with personal history as with the changing of the seasons."--Minneapolis Star Tribune
"With its focus on spirituality and reverence for the joys of everyday life, 'Little Faith' calls to mind Marilynne Robinson's 'Gilead.'"--New York Times Book Review
"Butler blends a sweet situation -- a grandfather's love for his grandson -- with a divisive religious conflict that could have life-altering consequences for that child.... Butler represents a continuum of believers and doubters."--Milwaukee Journal Sentinel