Like Lions

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!

Product Details

Price
$26.99
Publisher
Minotaur Books
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.2 X 1.3 X 9.3 inches | 1.12 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250206947

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brian Panowich is an award winning author, a Georgia firefighter, and a father to four incredible children. His first novel, Bull Mountain, was a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist, ITW Thriller Award winner for Best First Novel, Southern Book Prize winner, and a finalist for both the Anthony and the Barry Awards. He lives in Georgia with his family.

Reviews

"The thrills keep coming . . . In the vein of Grisham and Burke, Panowich zips readers along with action backed by delightfully rhythmic storytelling." -- Garden and Gun

"Excellent . . . It's the emotional complexity of Burroughs . . . as well as the brass knuckle punch of an ending that will have readers applauding. This is hillbilly noir at its finest." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Brian Panowich makes a triumphant return to Bull Mountain, Georgia, in his second novel, "Like Lions," as he continues to mix crime fiction with a violent family drama, perfectly melding characters with a sense of place . . . moves at a brisk clip, leading to a stunning, yet believable, finale." -- Associated Press

"Action and reflection are skillfully balanced in a vigorously written, trenchant tale." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Like Lions is excellent fiction, period. Buy, read, and enjoy." -- The New York Journal of Books

"Panowich is a terrific storyteller with a way with words . . . Fine country noir." -- Don Crinklaw, Booklist

"Brian Panowich's glorious return to Bull Mountain is another sprawling, brutal, no-holds-barred novel that held me in a death grip from page one until it kicked me out of the door with an ending I never saw coming."--C.J. Box

"Brian Panowich's new novel, LIKE LIONS, is 272 pages of pure-dee rompin', stompin', ass-kickin' reader's delight." --Daniel Woodrell

"If Elmore Leonard and Flannery O'Connor had a love child who grew up reading William Faulkner, pulp fiction, and a Shakespearean tragedy or two, he'd write like Brian Panowich. His characters are knotty, tangled people who try and fail and frustrate yet keep going, fueled by something as bone deep as family or fear, or both...You're in for a hell of a ride." --Christopher Swann, author of Shadow of the Lions

Praise for Bull Mountain

"A satisfying and smartly constructed book whose time-shifting sequences build suspense even as they parcel out telling revelations. Once events are in full play, there's no turning back."-- The Wall Street Journal

"[Brian Panowich] pulls off [a] daunting undertaking with astounding success . . . The storytelling is mesmerizing." -- The New York Times Book Review

"One of the best multi-generational family sagas in years." -- The Huffington Post

"Prose as punchy as rapid-aged whiskey." -- Esquire

"A brilliant debut novel . . . extraordinary." -- Atlanta Magazine

"Bull Mountain is a stone gas and a stone winner! It's brother-versus-brother in the dope-damned South. This first novel has it all: moonshine, maryjane and mayhem! Read this book now - and succumb to a startling new talent." - James Ellroy, author of Perfidia

s