Lights, Camera, Carmen!

Anika Denise (Author) Lorena Alvarez Gomez (Illustrator)
Available

Description

In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen is a little girl with a BIG personality. She loves the spotlight and fame that comes with being an actress, and she only grudgingly shares attention with her adoring little brother, Eduardo - especially when the prize is a starring role in a commercial.
Carmen and her family speak a mix of English and Spanish, inspired the author's loving exchanges with her father as a little girl.

Product Details

Price
$16.98  $15.62
Publisher
Harry N. Abrams
Publish Date
September 11, 2018
Pages
32
Dimensions
8.7 X 0.4 X 11.1 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781419731693
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Anika Denise is the celebrated author of four picture books, including Monster Trucks, Baking Day at Grandma's, and Bella and Stella Come Home. A former one-girl sensación, these days, she enjoys sharing the spotlight with her husband, Christopher, and three daughters. Denise and her family live in Rhode Island. You can visit her online at anikadenise.com. Lorena Alvarez Gómez is a freelance illustrator from Bogotá, Colombia. Her work reflects her interest in color language and her willingness to experiment with diverse techniques and concepts.

Reviews

"What the Carmen books do well is treat the overeager enthusiasm of Carmen with compassion: Her dreams aren't presented as unrealistic or irritating . . . The illustrations throughout capture great human moments in the characters' expressions, the way they stand, dance, and move, and the ebullient mass of purple hair on Carmen's (and her mother's) head."--Kirkus Reviews
"This delightful sequel to Starring Carmen! (2017) is equally as charming as its predecessor. Again, there is positive messaging for emotional development (how to be happy when you don't win, how to value your siblings) and a terrific, understated celebration of diversity (sprinkled Spanish words and the subtle, beautiful representation of a mixed-race family)."--Booklist