L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 34: The Best New Sci Fi and Fantasy Short Stories of the Year

Brandon Sanderson (Author) Erik Bundy (Author)
& 15 more


Writers of the Future Vol 34: #1 Bestselling Sci-Fi & Fantasy Short Stories of the Year Paperback - April 10, 2018

24 Award-Winning Authors and Illustrators
Accompanied by Orson Scott Card, Brandon Sanderson, Jody Lynn Nye, Jerry Pournelle, Ciruelo and Echo Chernik
Edited by David Farland

Your search for something new and different in sci-fi and fantasy ends here.

Presenting this year's collection of fresh voices, fabulous worlds, and fantastic new characters.

Each year, the Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests' blue-ribbon judges search the world to discover and introduce to you the very best new talent in sci-fi and fantasy.

Created by L. Ron Hubbard, whose commitment to helping new writers and artists gave rise to the annual Writers of the Future anthologies--a launching pad for writers and artists who are sure to command our attention for decades to come.

"Writers of the Future, as a contest and as a book, remains the flagship of short fiction." --Orson Scott Card

"The best new stories by new writers, anywhere." --Larry Niven

"These are the people who are going to be creating trends." --Brandon Sanderson

"Science fiction as a genre has always looked to the future and the Writers of the Future looks to the future of science fiction." --Kevin J. Anderson

"See the best of the best culled for you, curated and selected in a single volume every year." --Robert J. Sawyer

Wondrous and powerful tales from some of the world's best new writers:
Turnabout--Djinn are famous for twisting your words so they don't really grant your wish, but two can play that game.
A Smokeless and Scorching Fire--Deacon is a government official, and he's afraid he'll stay that way if he can't break his conditioning.
The Howler on the Sales Floor--It's easy making sales when you can send images of despair into the hearts of your clients.
The Minarets of An-Zabat--Alder seeks the secrets of the Windcallers' magic, but his curiosity may destroy the people he loves.
The Death Flyer--Jim Bellamy tries to save the life of a girl who died in the wreckage of a train ten years ago.
Odd and Ugly--A tree giant takes in a housekeeper, but she has more secrets than either of them can handle.
Mara's Shadow--An ancient myth might provide the key to curing a disease that threatens all of humanity.
The Lesson--A lesson on philosophy in action turns into a deadly encounter.
What Lies Beneath--A powerful sorcerer has so disgraced himself, he is afraid of what his family will think should he ever die and meet them on the other side.
The Face in the Box--Cara discovers a floating farm parked over her land, blocking the sunlight, and must confront the driver.
Flee, My Pretty One--In a world controlled by dragons and their henchmen, rock singer Josephine really only wants "death to all collaborators."
Illusion--Even a court wizard will struggle to fight off armies if his weapons pack no actual punch.
A Bitter Thing--You can put an end to something wondrous, but only at a cost.
Miss Smokey--Lily's ability to shift shapes into a bear offers some strange challenges.
All Light and Darkness--On a far world, a nameless man meets a woman of ancient genetic stock, and when trouble follows in his wake, he must choose: her life or his humanity?

Product Details

$15.95  $14.67
Galaxy Press (CA)
Publish Date
April 10, 2018
6.0 X 8.9 X 1.4 inches | 0.01 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. He is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn(R) trilogy and its sequels, The Alloy of Law, Shadows of Self, and The Bands of Mourning; the Stormlight Archive novels The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance; and other novels, including The Rithmatist and Steelheart. In 2013, he won a Hugo Award for Best Novella for The Emperor's Soul, set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time(R) sequence.
Jerry Pournelle (right), a past winner of the John W. Campbell Award, has collaborated with Niven on numerous bestsellers. He has also written such successful solo novels as Janissaries and Starswarm. He lives in Studio City, California.
Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle were the joint winners of the 2005 Robert A. Heinlein Award.
With 19 New York Times bestsellers and more than 350 million copies of his works in circulation, L. Ron Hubbard is among the most enduring and widely read authors of our time. As a leading light of American Pulp Fiction through the 1930s and '40s, he is further among the most influential authors of the modern age. Indeed, from Ray Bradbury to Stephen King, there is scarcely a master of imaginative tales who has not paid tribute to L. Ron Hubbard. Then too, of course, there is all L. Ron Hubbard represents as the Founder of Dianetics and Scientology and thus the only major religion born in the 20th century.

Brittany "Bea" Jackson is an award-winning freelance illustrator most notably known for her ability to tell a story through her art. Her work has been featured in various publications, from cover art, to interior illustration, children's books, character design, and more.

Alana Fletcher received the Governor General's Academic Gold Medal for her doctoral work on the community of D?line, which she completed at Queen's University.
David Farland (Dave Wolverton) began writing during college and entered short stories into various contests, but his career began in 1987 when he won the top award in the Writers of the Future Contest. Farland published several science fiction and fantasy novels including On My Way to Paradise, Star Wars: The Courtship of Princess Leia and, and several bestselling fantasy series including The Runelords and Of Mice and Magic. He has been nominated for the Nebula Award and the Hugo Award. Farland became a Contest judge in 1991 and served as an instructor at the annual WotF workshop for several years.