L'Chaim and Lamentations

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$24.95  $22.95
Publisher
NewSouth Books
Publish Date
Pages
160
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.7 X 8.0 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781588383693
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dr. Craig Darch is the Humana-Sherman-Germany Distinguished Professor of Special Education at Auburn University. He earned his doctorate at the University of Oregon and has taught at Auburn for more than three decades. He is the author of From Brooklyn to the Olympics: The Hall of Fame Career of Auburn University Track Coach Mel Rosen (NewSouth Books), the co-author of three college-level textbooks on learning and intellectual disabilities, and has published more than 60 research articles for professional journals in the fields of special education and psychology. He has contributed chapters to three edited books and has written articles on special education for three encyclopedias. Darch is married to Gabriele. They have a grown son, Eric.

Reviews

Warm, satisfying, and evocative of lost times, Craig Darch's stories are the literary equivalent of my grandmother's kugel, with far fewer calories. -- Seth Greenland, author of The Hazards of Good Fortune
Loving and colorful stories that will stick with you long after you've put them down. A wistful reminder of a vanished era. -- Rabbi Jonathan Miller, Rabbi Emeritus of Temple Emanu-El Birmingham Alabama
Craig Darch has a terrific ear for the Jewish voice, with all of its kvetching and kvelling, anxiety and elation, irrepressible humor and hope. L'Chaim and Lamentations is a delightful, large-hearted collection. -- Sam Graham-Felsen, author of Green
I found a great deal of kindness and generosity in the fiction of Craig Darch. And it got me thinking, why is this so rare? I've never met the man but I've little doubt he's a mensch. I mean in the real spirit of the word. His preoccupations are the old, the lonely, the forgotten. He pays attention when others look away. -- Peter Orner, author of Love and Shame and Love
Craig Darch writes in the tradition of Cynthia Ozick and Grace Paley. His stories capture the joys and tsuris of generations of Jewish diaspora life. -- Ben Nadler, author of The Sea Beach Line
These wonderful stories of Jewish life, set in tenements and in delis, in shtetls and in synagogues, take you back to the days of the Jewish literary renaissance in America when works by Bellow, Malamud, Roth, I. B. Singer, and Grace Paley were at the center of literary culture. -- Don Noble, Alabama Public Radio
There's loneliness and humor, kiddush and Kaddish, humanity and hope in these stories. -- The New York Jewish Week