Just Like Jackie

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
Pages
256
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.3 X 1.2 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062652911

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lindsey Stoddard was born and raised in Vermont. She spent twelve years living in NYC and taught middle school English at MS 324 in the neighborhood of Washington Heights. She recently moved back to Vermont with her husband and two children. Right as Rain is her second novel, following the acclaimed Just Like Jackie.

Reviews

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."--Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax
"A story about scratching the surface (and welcoming what you find below). It's also a lovely story of acceptance - about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences."--Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain, Reign
"As close to perfect as a book for middle-grade children can get! Readers will cheer for Robbie as she comes to terms with the family she has and finds the family she needs."--Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck
"Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer's, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family--what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family."--School Library Journal
"Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt."--Booklist
"A coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read."--John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day
Selected as a Top Ten Kids' Indie Next title--No Source
"This emotionally honest, sensitively written novel confronts a range of difficult topics and offers an inclusive view of what family can look like."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)