Joy Enough: A Memoir

Sarah McColl (Author)
Available

Description

Lipsticks applied, novels read, imperfect cakes baked--such memories are recalled with "crystalline perfection" (J.C. Hallmann, Brooklyn Rail) in Sarah McColl's breathtaking testimonial to the joy and pain of loving well. When her mother, Allison, was diagnosed with cancer, McColl dropped everything--including her on-the-rocks marriage--to return to the family farmhouse and fix elaborate meals in the hope of nourishing her back to health. In "thoughtful and finely crafted prose" (Martha Anne Toll, NPR.org) McColl reveals Allison to be an extraordinary woman of infinite love for her unruly brood of children. Mining her dual losses "with humor and charm" (Rachel Kong, New York Times Book Review) to confront her identity as a woman, McColl walks lightly in the footsteps of the woman who came before her. "A gorgeous, painful, exhilarating debut" (Kirstin Valdez-Quade), Joy Enough is an essential guide to clinging fast to the joy left behind, for readers of Ann Hood and Jenny Offill.

Product Details

Price
$15.95  $14.67
Publisher
Liveright Publishing Corporation
Publish Date
January 14, 2020
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.4 X 0.5 X 8.1 inches | 0.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781631496639
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Sarah McColl was founding editor-in-chief of Yahoo Food and holds an MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. Her essays have appeared in the Paris Review, StoryQuarterly, McSweeney's, and elsewhere, and she has been a MacDowell Fellow and Pushcart Prize nominee. She lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

What if the greatest love you ever had was your mother? In sensuous and elliptical prose, Sarah McColl takes us into the small spaces that contain a life, revealing both the emptiness left by the loss of her mother and the joy that endures. I was intoxicated by this book from start to finish. McColl has a superfan now.--Sarah Hepola, author of Blackout
Beautifully tender; a deceptively delicate slow-burn story of grief and love and the desire to hold close those we love.--Sophie Mackintosh. Booker Longlisted author of The Water Cure
Written with enough beauty to stop clocks ticking and heart's beating.... McColl's resonant first book is resplendent with love, and the hope she finds in discovering that her unfathomable grief also carved a space for more profound joy.--Annie Bostrom, Booklist (starred review)
Joy Enough is so compelling that I stayed up most of the night while traveling by train in a sleeper car. Sarah McColl's exquisite memoir is the perfect balm for anyone who has experienced the sharp sting of loneliness or inhabited the liminal space between grief and happiness.--Michele Filgate, writer and contributing editor at LitHub
Joy Enough is a diamond in book form, a beauty forged by the weight of loss and learning. It stunned me with its taut clarity, with the way it probes - quietly, gently, unflinchingly - the parts of life that a lot of us don't like to look at: death, divorce, the pleasures and pitfalls of the body. This may be Sarah McColl's debut, but it's a towering achievement by any standard. McColl has a rare talent, and it shines.--Molly Wizenberg, author of A Homemade Life and Delancey
It doesn't take long to find yourself in McColl's rhythm, attuned to the beautiful colors and fragrances and tastes that lodge themselves in our memories.... McColl's argument -- that these small moments make up a life, that these small moments are life - is persuasive, and it is presented with humor and charm.... This is a book about an extraordinary figure who was a housewife, mother, and divorcee. The word 'mother' doesn't entirely do her justice, and yet that's what this memoir does: does her justice, in more than a summarizing word.--Rachel Kong, New York Times Book Review